IGNORED

My driver had a wood shaft this whole time?!

Note: This thread is 2536 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello all. This is not a google type question, so I'm putting it out there for the humans. I have recently discovered I have been swinging a wood shaft on my driver for the last 10+ years. Yes 10+... Anyways, I'm a big swinger with my drives between 270 and 300 yds. 115+ mph swing speed according to my local golf shop (with my driver). The driver is a Taylormade R7 with an Aldila NV 65 s shaft (stiff). I'm also left handed, hence nobody ever told me I was swinging a wood shaft because I only play with you right handed folk. I now know that a stiff wood shaft is stiffer than a stiff driver shaft, so what type of flex and weight should I get if I want to replace my current shaft? I still want to take the big cuts that I have grown accustomed to, since it is the strongest part of my game (I have a strong scramble presence I need to keep up). I'm thinking extra stiff will still feel looser than my current shaft? I have since picked up and dabbled with a lefty driver with a stiff driver shaft and it felt like my wife's 8 iron (no offense intended). But do I just need to get used to this? Or go extra stiff? Thank you for reading this far. Any input is greatly appreciated.

3 hours ago, Derekfugitt said:

... I have recently discovered I have been swinging a wood shaft on my driver for the last 10+ years. Yes 10+... Anyways, I'm a big swinger with my drives between 270 and 300 yds. 115+ mph swing speed according to my local golf shop (with my driver). The driver is a Taylormade R7 with an Aldila NV 65 s shaft (stiff). ...  But do I just need to get used to this? Or go extra stiff? ...

I'm a little confused by your post.