IGNORED

help me look for a new set of irons for a ~5 hdcp player

Note: This thread is 5777 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi there,

I am just getting back into the game after a year layoff. I've been playing roughly 20 years, since I was 12 years old .. I played competitively in high school and at the college level, upon leaving college i was about a 1 - 2 handicap.

Now, 10 years later, a kid later, I'm going to get back into playing quite a bit more .. more to get my daughter into the game, she's 6 now and has expressed an interest ..

First time I swung a club this year was yesterday at a range trying out a few new clubs, I still got it at least .. hit a lot of solid shots ..

I have no idea what the new technology is .. i was working in golf shops in the mid '90's when the rave was the big bertha / great big bertha, titleist DCI, Ping ISI, Tommy Armour 845s, and titanium was just coming on the market.

Anyways .. the set of clubs I currently own are tommy armour 845s titanium insert irons .. 2 - PW .. these irons are great .. they got a nice soft feel yet very forgiving .. the only issue is I hit them rather high .. I'm 6'5" .. so I've got a high arc to my swing.

At the range yesterday I had tried the Titleist AP2 forged .. the 7 iron i was hitting as far as my 845 5 iron .. and the ball flight was lower than the 5 iron .. but alas .. I don't think I can do forged blades, at least for now .. I've still got a set of early 80's titleist tour model blades at home I used through college, haha.

The look of the old 845's is about my favorite cavity back look .. except the 8 - PW .. I don't like the curved top ..

What other irons should I try? .. I don't want to go in next time blind to the new technology ..