IGNORED

beginner clubs

Note: This thread is 6116 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

im just beginning and i am wondering if it would be better to buy everything seperate (irons, driver, putter, wedges) or buy a $200-300 set to begin with. i have golfed 4 or 5 times and am really getting into it and know i will be playing a lot this summer if that helps

I did that at first--bought a $200 set of clubs when I was starting out. I found out they were decent clubs, and enough to tell if you're really going to get serious about it. They probably won't be a perfect fit and you'll find you're springing for a new driver in a hurry, but it'd be good to get started (plus, the bag can last forever).

When buying it all seperate, you open a real can of worms, since there's about a billion options for each type of club imaginable.
"Shouldn't you be going faster? I mean, you're doing 40 in a 65..."

Driver: Burner TP 9.5*
3 Wood: 906F2 15*
2I: Eye 23I-PW: 3100 I/HWedges: Vokey Spin-Milled 56*06, MP-R 52*07/60*05Putter: Victoria IIBall: Pro V1xCheck out my new blog: Thousand Yard DriveHome Course: Kenton County...

I would go to a local golf shop and buy a used set of super game improvement irons. Build your confidence and if you don't like them sell the clubs at little or no loss at all. You really don't hit your driver that often when you start....you try to hit it but usually just gets frustrating.

In My Bag:
Driver: R9 TP 9.5°
Hybrids: Idea Pro, 16°, 20°, VS Proto
Irons: TP MB 4-P
Wedges: Vokey SM 50.08 54°, 60°Putter: NP2

im just beginning and i am wondering if it would be better to buy everything seperate (irons, driver, putter, wedges) or buy a $200-300 set to begin with. i have golfed 4 or 5 times and am really getting into it and know i will be playing a lot this summer if that helps