IGNORED

The Push and Fade?

Note: This thread is 4436 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi

I'm new on here but was wondering if someone could offer some help/insight. To give you some background...I started playing golf at the age of 8 (mostly hacking around-following my dad and his friends around). Then at around the age of 14, I made friends with a coaching pro and though he had retired, he was kind enough to help me sort out my game. by the time I was 16, I was shooting scores between 4-8 (best ever round is a 2). The old pro actually gifted me a set of Hogan Director blades, because I was hitting the ball really well at that stage (my first set was a set of tommy armour 845s Silver Scotts). Then I went off to college, started working, got married etc...and basically ended up playing one round of golf every couple of years. Anyway...I am 34 now and last month played a round with some friends from the office and I'm hoked again (by the time I got to the 6th hole, I was hitting my 3 wood 270 with a slight fade)....my game is, as expected inconsistent...sometimes I know I have done all of the right things in my swing and it shoots off the face with a nice divot... this of course is accompanied by tops, heavy shots and everything else in between. I have been going to the range for the past week and have been focusing on making the right swing movements. Then yesterday, I decided to see where all the work had got me and hit 50 balls at full tilt with an 8 iron. The good news was....the contact I was making on every shot was reasonably consistent (I think I only topped one shot, hit two shots heavy and thinned one...which out of 50 isn't bad). The bad news was, that despite enjoying some good ball striking, I was mostly pushing the ball with a high fade (at my best...my natural shot would be a high gentle dra