IGNORED

Which of these iron sets is better for a beginner?

Note: This thread is 3928 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Just between these few

Dunlop 65i

Shaft - Graphite

3,4,5,6,7,8,9,PW,SW

£60 ($90)

MD Golf Surefire X3

Shaft - Steel

Large Sweet Spot for Maximum Forgiveness

5,6,7,8,9,PW,SW

£65 ($100)

Go TP1
5,6,7,8,9,PW,SW

Shaft - Steel

£65 ($100)

As I'm a beginner, should I go with the Dunlop set just for the extra 3 and 4 irons?

I cant be of much help, since im a beginner too, but for a beginner, a 3 iron and 4 iron may not be necessary, particularly if you have a 4 hybrid amd other clubs to help you take the ball out further than your 5 iron. but I would definitely wait to hear what a more experienced golfer has to say

Any chance you can test hit the three, and see which one works best for you?

Also, you might ask your fellow golfers who use them whether they like the irons. I am not familiar with the MD and Go irons, but they might be popular in UK and Europe.

You don't want to spend £500 for beginner grade irons, but also you want to avoid poorly made irons which might wear out quickly. For hints here, ask fellow golfers.

Focus, connect and follow through!

• Completed KBS Education Seminar (online, 2015)
  • GolfWorks Clubmaking AcademyFitting, Assembly & Repair School (2012)

Driver:  :touredge: EXS 10.5°, weights neutral   ||  FWs:  :callaway: Rogue 4W + 7W
Hybrid:  :callaway: Big Bertha OS 4H at 22°  ||  Irons:  :callaway: Mavrik MAX 5i-PW
Wedges:  :callaway: MD3: 48°, 54°... MD4: 58° ||  Putter:image.png.b6c3447dddf0df25e482bf21abf775ae.pngInertial NM SL-583F, 34"  
Ball:  image.png.f0ca9194546a61407ba38502672e5ecf.png QStar Tour - Divide  ||  Bag: :sunmountain: Three 5 stand bag

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades