IGNORED

New Player Looking for advice on clubs

Note: This thread is 3741 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am just getting into the sport. I have some really old clubs that I am not too crazy about but they were my dad's and free. I would like to invest some money into some clubs for myself. I am going to buy used as I don't see spending the extra cash on new clubs at this point. I am trying to keep my price point under $350. There are 2 deals I am looking at. First was a set of Taylor Made Rocket Blade Irons PW-4. The reviews look good but I don't know know how well I would do with them as a beginner. They looked like these http://taylormadegolf.com/taylormade/rocketbladez-irons/DW-JN933.html but not sure if they are the exact same ones. They are asking $320. I am not sure if the grips are upgraded or not. Shafts are Stiff.

The others were a mixed set of Callaways. The 3-6 are RAZR X and the 7-PW are 3-6 are RAZR X Forged Shafts are Stiff flex Royal Precision Project X Rifle Steel. Grips are almost new Lamkin X10 Rubber Grips. The person is asking $325 but I could probably get him a little lower.

Both sets are in great shape and look lightly used. They are certainly in better shape then the clubs I have know (Spaulding Executives from like 1994).

Any thoughts, comments, recommendations? Thanks.

I have two pieces of advice. No matter what you do:

1. Never buy clubs without hitting them first. Reviews are great, but they mean nothing about how the specific club will perform for you. Therefore hitting the irons first is a must.
  2. If you insist on buying used, take them to a reputable golf shop and make sure that the shaft length and lie angle are appropriate for you. A full fitting is best, but at the minimum, you need to make sure that shaft length, shaft flex, and lie angle are correct.