or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › OB or not?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

OB or not?

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

I play at a small 9 hole course where there are no formal indications for OB.

several of the holes however, lay side by side, separated only by a range of trees.

 

if my ball ends up on the fairway of the other hole, does that make my ball OB?

post #2 of 6
Unless there are white stakes marking a OB line between the fairways then no. Also check the scorecard from this course for any local rules.
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipergsm View Post

I play at a small 9 hole course where there are no formal indications for OB.

several of the holes however, lay side by side, separated only by a range of trees.

 

if my ball ends up on the fairway of the other hole, does that make my ball OB?

 

No.  Out of bounds must be marked or identified in some way, either by white stakes or lines or with boundary fences or other identifiable boundary markers.

post #4 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

No.  Out of bounds must be marked or identified in some way, either by white stakes or lines or with boundary fences or other identifiable boundary markers.

 

I had an interesting situation the other day.

 

I was playing a Par 5 that runs alongside a farmer's field and it's not 100% clear where the golf course ends and the field begins.  Along the entire 500 yard length of this hole, there was but one metal stake.  It was a rusty piece of metal, that looked like the kind used to hold up a wire fence.  The stake itself was probably 4 feet long, with the top 3 inches or so of the stake was painted white.

 

Now, caution being the better part of valor, I made the assumption that because the single stake was alongside a farmer's field that it was intended to mark OB.  However, was I correct in doing so?  If it's not apparent what the only stake around's actual purpose is, does one have to assume it's for OB?

 

Unfortunately, I forgot to go ask in the clubhouse when I finished my round.

post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld View Post

 

I had an interesting situation the other day.

 

I was playing a Par 5 that runs alongside a farmer's field and it's not 100% clear where the golf course ends and the field begins.  Along the entire 500 yard length of this hole, there was but one metal stake.  It was a rusty piece of metal, that looked like the kind used to hold up a wire fence.  The stake itself was probably 4 feet long, with the top 3 inches or so of the stake was painted white.

 

Now, caution being the better part of valor, I made the assumption that because the single stake was alongside a farmer's field that it was intended to mark OB.  However, was I correct in doing so?  If it's not apparent what the only stake around's actual purpose is, does one have to assume it's for OB?

 

Unfortunately, I forgot to go ask in the clubhouse when I finished my round.

 

As fourputt put it, the OB stakes have to be clearly identifiable. In your case this seems not to be the case. Besides, a single stake alone cannot define a margin, there has to be at least two.

post #6 of 6

 To the OP, no, it has to be propery marked.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › OB or not?