Jump to content
  • entries
    49
  • comments
    413
  • views
    18,431

Rules

Sign in to follow this  
bkuehn1952

1,445 views

I enjoy Rules discussions.  One learns a few things and also experiences another’s perspective.  I started playing competitive golf late in life (35 or so) but I made it a point to learn the Rules well before I ever entered a tournament.  Frankly, I see no point in playing any game without a clear understanding of the Rules.  Collecting double the rent on an unimproved Monopoly or “castling” in chess are details and one can play either game without knowing the rule.  One is likely, however, to see more success if one is aware of all the “details”.  Still, for all our efforts we all stub our toes on occasion.  A discussion about Rules recently got me thinking about my top Rules snafus.

  1. I cleared a long cross hazard off the tee and got to my ball.  It was just where I thought it would be, having barely cleared the hazard.  Yep, “Titleist” was clearly visible.  I laid up short of the next hazard because of a poor lie.  Then I discovered that the “Titleist” I had hit was not my “Titleist”.  That was the last time I have done that, so far.
  2. I and my other three competitors were finishing up a decidedly indifferent one day tournament. The organization that ran this particular event had a condition of competition that every foursome was to finish the round within 4 ½ hours or, if over that number, finish within 12 minutes of the prior group.  As usual, every group suddenly stepped on the gas with about 3 holes left.  For whatever reason, we just could not be bothered with sprinting between shots on the last holes.  As we turned in our cards, the official said, “everyone in the group has been assessed a one stroke penalty.”  He got ready for a tirade but we all shrugged and said, “okay.” He was momentarily stunned and then smiled.  “I have never had 4 people accept a penalty so easily.”  That was, however, the last time I was penalized for slow play.
  3. In the final round of our three day City Championship, I was surveying my severely downhill putt for par.  As I addressed the ball, it rolled a ¼ turn.  I had not touched it but back in the day, after taking one’s stance and grounding the club, any movement was on you.  I announced the penalty and, fortunately, was aware enough to move the ball back to its original position prior to playing the next shot.  I stopped grounding my club on the green for several decades.
  4. We were playing a tournament at my home course.  I typically played the “White” tees but for this event, it was “Blue.”  The driver of the cart I was sharing drove up and parked next to the “White” tees.  I had honors.  You can guess the rest.  My pre-shot routine now includes checking the tee color.

Of course, I have made both the ride and walk of shame back to the tee after losing my tee shot and neglecting to hit a provisional.  Some might say I hit too many provisionals but honestly, I don’t plan to ever make that walk back again in a tournament.

With the proposed changes to the Rules, I am getting ready to go back to “school.”  There will undoubtedly be fresh opportunities for me to “step in it” a far as Rules breaches.  Still, it won’t be because I did not continue to study and attempt to understand the Rules.

 

Sign in to follow this  


1 Comment


Recommended Comments

This topic has been on my mind a lot lately. As you've stated, being knowledgeable about the rules can save you strokes. I'm not sure I'll learn them all, but I've got to get better at it.

After becoming (painfully) aware of the term "Known or Virtually Certain" in 26-1, I'd done some online research and tried to come up with a "standard" for easier, black and white decisions in determining whether a ball is lost, or if it's in a water hazard (there are no officials where I play).

On Sunday, I was lucky enough to be paired up with another single who I've played with a few times over the last couple of years. This would be a round I'd post towards my HC - regardless of how ugly it turned out.

I had already called a penalty on myself for brushing my club against the sand in a bunker. While it wasn't the first time I'd committed that error, it was the first time I'd actually given myself the 2 stroke penalty for it. My playing partner just shook his head in disgust when I told him 6 for my score, and then mumbled something about those rules being for the pros.

There had been a few lost balls through out the round... all no-doubters which called for a provisional and very little effort taken in finding the original. But on the last hole, I hit a drive that went towards a lateral water hazard some 230 yards away from the tee box.

Obviously, I'd have preferred for that tee shot to have been in play, but if not, shooting my 3nd shot from next to the hazard was preferable over re-teeing. Still, with my eyesight and at that distance, I couldn't have possibly seen - with crystal clear certainty - the ball go in. This would be a good test for my "Known or Virtually Certain" logic.

What I did see from the tee box was a ball slowly rolling toward the depression of a hazard before disappearing. It didn't go left or right, and it didn't go beyond. There were no trees that came in to play, and no chance for a crazy bounce. I chose not to hit a provisional. When we walked up to where we last saw the ball, there was a very small area of light rough between the fairway and the hazard... too small for us not to have found the ball had it stopped short (which neither of us believed had happened). We both agreed the ball had to be in the marsh.

My ego wants low scores as much as anyone else's. It can be challenging to learn the rules and more challenging to know I'm supposed to add strokes when nobody else in the world would care one way or the other. Ignorance is bliss sometimes.

But my game is exactly what it is and I'm slowly learning not to give a $#!!. Shaving a stroke here or there by fudging the rules isn't going to provide any real sense of accomplishment.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Blog Entries

  • Posts

    • Played in our club championship this past weekend.  Shot 89 both days from silver tees.  Not that great but an ok tournament score for me and better than I did last year. Played Tuesday and shot 83 off silver which was net 70, so 2 under my cap.  Played combo's Wednesday and had my best round in years with an 80, net 65 and got my first eagle since relocating after retiring.  Also got 3 birdies in the same round.  Played again Friday and shot 84, net 72 with a couple of birdies.  Leaving the driver out of the bag for the last few rounds has certainly helped in the penalty department.  I recently replaced my 3W and the new shaft in it is so stable I feel I can trust it so much more.  Have ordered a new driver shaft with a similar spec but slightly lighter than 3W shaft, so hopefully will be able to have a similar stability with the driver and a few extra yards in the fairway.
    • Find them quite tricky. Hit them like an iron or flatter like a wood? Also my G400 hybrid has no swing weight which helps swing speed but makes me nervous. Also it just dont have a good feeling to it. Proper Woods are so fun to hit. 
    • noticed that myself, never seen him do that half takeback like JT before in his routine... then today at Wyndham, wasn't doing it.  His fidgeting does seem to have gotten worse the last couple years, at least he's not grabbing the towel 10,000 times anymore 😂.   Curious what someone else with far more knowledge on the golf swing thinks though of the commentators remark today, I believe it was Trevor Immelman and Aaron Oberholser who both agreed that if he just switched to playing a cut off the tee, it would solve a lot of his issues.
    • This is a really deep question, possibly with no right answer. I think that usage and accuracy of equipment are the main components in deciding what you want, and price just follows suit. I kind of divide it into three categories: toy (not accurate or not simulators), recreational sim (more accurate, but comes with limitations on certain data and isn't as accurate as the final category), and professional sim. The toy category is comprised of sub 500 dollar options (the measuring device itself) that measure a couple of things. The OptiShot line is the prime example. It only measures the club going over an array of infrared sensors (2 lines of sensors). It can track face angle, speed (kind of), and perceived strike location based on which sensors are triggered at what time. It doesn't even require the use of a ball to get its data, so it can be quite inaccurate. The other options here would be Mevo or SC300, though neither of these truly offer sim capabilities but are more accurate than an OptiShot as they use ball data. The rec sims only have 2 that I can think of. The Mevo+ and the SkyTrak. They operate in very different ways, with the Mevo+ operating on radar and measuring mostly the ball for the first part of flight, and the SkyTrak operating on optics measuring the point of impact, both ball and club. These are both fairly robust devices for the price (probably around 3k each for a full sim) but both have drawbacks and it could be argued over which is better. From my small knowledge about launch monitors it seems that for indoor simulation the optic driven devices excel, but outdoors radar is king, i.e. SkyTrak for indoors and Mevo+ for outdoors. On to the big dogs, the professional sims. Once again there are really two choices at the moment, and like the previous category, one is radar driven where the other is optic driven. Trackman is the premium radar system available and comes in just under 20k USD on price. Big bucks for big performance. The GCQuad (or GC2+HMT) is king for optical launch monitors and can be had for around 12k USD, but with the putting analysis and head monitoring add on, it also comes in just under 20k. Same thing here, gotta pay to play. These prices don't include the bay (mat/projector/screen) so you can really spec them as you please. The GC2 without the HMT upgrade kind of splits the difference between recreational and professional launch monitors, and the price follows suit. A certified preowned unit can be had for around 5500 USD. It really does split the difference in the optical category, being a big step up from a SkyTrak, but comes up short to the GCQuad or if you were to add the HMT unit. I know this is a lot of info, although it's just the basics when it comes to launch monitors/sims. For the actual question: If I had a room with a tall enough ceiling in my house, I would probably go for the SkyTrak at first. One of the biggest reasons is that it has compatibility with "The Golf Club 2019" which is a video game that I have on home computer. That package comes at an up-charge, but between the official courses designed by the game developer, and the many recreated courses done by fans (even has Augusta in there), there are something like 180,000 courses to play. That's a big draw for me.  There is something to be said for course packages/subscriptions and which best fits your interest/needs. I might grow tired of the SkyTrak, or find it lacking in accuracy at some point and then it would be a GCQuad for me. Snce it would be indoors only, I would prefer an optical system.  There is plenty of info online, and plenty of reviews to go along with them. I have only used the GC2s that are in my local golf galaxy, so I don't experience with most of these, but this is most of the info I have gathered. I hope this helps in some way, and if you have any questions, I can try to answer them.
    • View this round on GAME GOLF  
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Cantankerish
      Cantankerish
      (46 years old)
    2. Dimes44
      Dimes44
      (37 years old)
    3. Donald Belcher
      Donald Belcher
      (84 years old)
    4. jimnm
      jimnm
      (41 years old)
    5. Zachase715
      Zachase715
      (28 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...