ZANDER1994

Lost Swings?

3 posts / 328 viewsLast Reply

So I had to take a couple weeks off due to the gosh darn flu followed by a rainy start to June in Minnesota. When I returned to my club this past week, I was suddenly unable to get the ball in the air (an issue I haven't had since I started playing!). Everything was either a horribly toed shank or a worm burner.

I finally took the afternoon today to hit the range. After 3 or 4 shots, all issues were suddenly gone. I probably hit something like 80 near perfect shots in a row. I went out on the course, shot a decent round in the high 80s and left scratching my head. I'm guessing my arms were just a little tight and perhaps I was rolling a bit.

It seems like maybe once or twice a year I completely lose my swing. Usually it's when I have to take a few weeks off like in this case. When it happens, I literally have the swing of someone who couldn't break 100. It makes me feel a little embarrassed if it happens in front of strangers and I often cut the round at 9 when it does. How do you guys go about it when this happens? Are there any cases of a lost swing that just never came back?

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

A temporarily lost swing happen to everyone to some degree, at some point, multiple times, during their golf journey. 

When it happens to me, I just put away my clubs for a day or three, and not worry about it.

Some days, when I do put my bag away, I will take one of my extra putters, (Iron Rail) and do a little carpet putting. 

Maybe I will do a few reps with my Kallassy SM club. 

Most of the time however I just kick back with a few beers while fishing. 

Edited by Patch

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades