IGNORED

New player, new clubs

Note: This thread is 1746 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, I'm pretty new to the golf world, recently played my first 3/4 rounds using old clubs from the garage, but now I'm looking to buy some clubs, any suggestions on what to get, a few different options budget wise would be good?

What sort of clubs do you have and how old are they?   There's a world of difference between you having Wilson staff blades from the 70s and having some Ping G10s laying around. 

Welcome to TST by the way. 

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, fronnoc said:

Hi, I'm pretty new to the golf world, recently played my first 3/4 rounds using old clubs from the garage, but now I'm looking to buy some clubs, any suggestions on what to get, a few different options budget wise would be good?

Do not ask for suggestions. :-)

All that will happen is that you will get a hundred people telling you what they have and a hundred others saying that they "have heard good things about" clubs they have never seen.

Keep it simple - Clubs from a major manufacturer that are no more than about 10 years old that are designed with some forgiveness in mind - basically meaning cavities in the back and wide soles to stop them digging into the turf if your swing is too steep. Look at some clubs in your price range and then research the type of player that they are designed for.