hokie2009

My Swing (hokie2009)

4 posts / 793 viewsLast Reply

I've been Playing Golf for: 4 months
My current handicap index or average score is: I shoot 100-120 on a difficult course if nothing goes too horribly wrong
My typical ball flight is: a manageable fade
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: (severely) chunked/topped shots, sliced OB drives

Videos: 

Edited by iacas
please embed videos

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Been hitting balls every day between the range of wiffle balls in the back yard ... have hit hundreds since the last time I actually hit a shot clean ... feel totally lost ... 7-iron carrying 100 yards, everything is fat or thin ... I am a beginner but have had several extended stretches where I was actually contacting the ball well on full shots- 160 yard carry draws with 7 iron, while using the same "Bryson / setup 4 impact" setup ... but cannot for the life of me get back to that ... starting to forget what that feeling of clean contact even is ...

been working primarily on swing plane, pivot, and keeping hands in front of the clubhead (lag / forward shaft lean) at impact. Have had conflicting advice from teaching pros ... one told me everything I have a problem with stems from having a "weak" left wrist at impact, not like strong/weak grip but like grip pressure strength, he's saying I need to hold the club with the strength of balling the first to throw a punch or I will not make good contact. But seemingly I was making good contact for SOME times - without doing this, and it feels quite unnatural and difficult for me as I have a lot of nerve damage in my hands and arms from thoracic outlet syndrome / computer neck postures ...