khalespace

My Swing (khalespace)

7 posts / 712 viewsLast Reply

I've been Playing Golf for: 20 years
My current handicap index or average score is: 18 - unofficial, but my friends give me this when we play
My typical ball flight is: high, push
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: fat, thin, push, flipping at impact, chicken wing

I am RIGHT handed, the videos show me left handed. I will figure out this for the next videos. Many thanks.

Videos: 

Edited by khalespace

Sorry, I couldn't add more information on the first post because it is locked. I have attached the image at impact [from the video] which shows chicken wing and flipping. 

I started playing 20 years ago [in 2020] right after college with friends and coworkers help me with my swing. I took 4 lessons in around 2008 but it didn't help because I was too grooved with my bad swing. I shot anywhere from 84 (best round) to 104 in the last 15 years. I stopped playing in 2015 and returned to playing 2 months ago. Last month I played a 9-hole course twice before returning to an 18 hole course and shot 101 and 98 with many fat and thin shots. After taking lessons for the last 3 weeks I went out and shot 14 over for 16 holes last week before it turned dark and I was hitting the ball much better.

I always hit the ball too high which kills my distance. Under pressure I aslo top and hit fat shots.

I thought I have fixed many of my faults with 3 weeks of lessons but I am really surprised I haven't changed much watching myself on videos. Although I feel I make better contact with the ball right now. My instructor is trying to have me turn my left shoulder and point to the ball, have a bowed left wrist at the top of the backswing and more steep backswing to quiet my lower body which moves too much. I have 3 more lessons but I may add another 8 lessons after that.

Many thanks,

flipping.gif

Edited by khalespace