Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 1226 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Rule 9.4b says, "If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets one penalty stroke."

The first exception is confusing to me because it reads like a giant loophole: "There is no penalty when the player lifts the ball or causes it to move under a Rule that: Allows the ball to be lifted and then replaced on its original spot,... " 

For example, rule 13.1b allows lifting a ball on the green. So the exception in 9.4b might indicate you can just pick up your ball when it's on the green, no penalty.

Have to read rule 13.1b (and Interpretation 9.4b/1) to realize the ball has to be marked before lifting. 

There are other examples of rules that allow lifting and replacing. I believe all of them state the ball must be marked first. 

The 9.4b exception seems needlessly confusing. Is there another way to read it? 

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

Your making it more complicated than it is.

It just says “you can’t lift or move your ball unless another rule allows it.”

This rule is about the penalty when you’re not allowed to lift or move it.

  • Like 2
  • Upvote 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
9 hours ago, reidsou said:

Rule 9.4b says, "If the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets one penalty stroke."

The first exception is confusing to me because it reads like a giant loophole: "There is no penalty when the player lifts the ball or causes it to move under a Rule that: Allows the ball to be lifted and then replaced on its original spot,... " 

For example, rule 13.1b allows lifting a ball on the green. So the exception in 9.4b might indicate you can just pick up your ball when it's on the green, no penalty.

Have to read rule 13.1b (and Interpretation 9.4b/1) to realize the ball has to be marked before lifting. 

There are other examples of rules that allow lifting and replacing. I believe all of them state the ball must be marked first. 

The 9.4b exception seems needlessly confusing. Is there another way to read it? 

The 2019 revisions to the rules purposely attempted to minimize duplication.  Rule 9.4 doesn't intend to tell you how to proceed if you are allowed to lift your ball, just that you are not allowed to lift, move, or deliberately touch it unless proceeding under a rule that specifically allows you to do so.  If you ARE proceeding under such a rule, you should refer to that rule.  For information on lifting, dropping, replacing, etc. under a rule (13, 15, 16, 17, 19 and maybe others that I can't remember right now) you are consistently referred to Rule 14.  Your example, 13.1b specifically refers you to 14.1 and 14.2.  

  • Like 1
  • Informative 2

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...
Posted
On 7/15/2022 at 6:09 AM, DaveP043 said:

The 2019 revisions to the rules purposely attempted to minimize duplication.  Rule 9.4 doesn't intend to tell you how to proceed if you are allowed to lift your ball, just that you are not allowed to lift, move, or deliberately touch it unless proceeding under a rule that specifically allows you to do so.  If you ARE proceeding under such a rule, you should refer to that rule.  For information on lifting, dropping, replacing, etc. under a rule (13, 15, 16, 17, 19 and maybe others that I can't remember right now) you are consistently referred to Rule 14....

I believe rule 16.1d - relief from an abnormal course condition on the green - is an exception to the requirement that the ball be marked before touching it. If proceeding under this rule, marking is not required. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
4 hours ago, reidsou said:

I believe rule 16.1d - relief from an abnormal course condition on the green - is an exception to the requirement that the ball be marked before touching it. If proceeding under this rule, marking is not required. 

I believe that is correct.  Rule 14.1 states:

“When you lift your ball to take relief under a Rule, you are not required to mark the spot.”

4E616F01-0BAA-461E-8644-0022CF511083.thumb.png.3abeda7bfba1f2d82d8be9a15ddc115a.png

  • Informative 1

Stuart M.
 

I am a "SCRATCH GOLFER".  I hit ball, Ball hits Tree, I scratch my head. 😜

Driver: Ping G410 Plus 10.5* +1* / 3 Hybrid: Cleveland HIBORE XLS / 4,5 & 6 Hybrids: Mizuno JP FLI-HI / Irons/Wedges 7-8-9-P-G: Mizuno JPX800 HD / Sand Wedge: Mizuno JPX 800 / Lob Wedge: Cleveland CBX 60* / Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S / Balls: Srixon Soft / Beer: Labatt Blue (or anything nice & cold) 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1226 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.