IGNORED

How to find/pick a teaching pro?

Note: This thread is 5844 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm completely self-taught, and often times that is a big source of pride for me. But lately I'm starting to think that taking some lessons will put me on a faster track to dropping my scores.

I'm concerned about taking lessons though, because I've got some opinions about how I want to play the game, and I don't want to spend money to have someone try to give me some gimmicky swing, or teach me things I don't believe in. Besides, I don't take criticism very well if its done the wrong way, so even taking lessons in the first place is tough on me.

So how do I go about finding a pro who fits with my wants? Is it rude to really ask some tough questions of prospective pros? What questions do you guys think should be asked?

thanks!
Bag: Flight SS
Driver: 10.5* r5 draw with Pro Launch blue 65 Stiff
Irons: CCi Forged 3i-pw
Wedges: 56* CG12 black pearl and 60* low bounce RTG 900
Putter: i-Series Anser 35"Ball: e5+Tee: Zero FrictionGlove: FootJoy WeatherSofRangefinder: MedalistShoes: Sp-6 II, Adidas 360Scores this year:92 91...

So how do I go about finding a pro who fits with my wants? Is it rude to really ask some tough questions of prospective pros? What questions do you guys think should be asked?