Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 840 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Posted
On 8/28/2023 at 2:20 PM, DaveP043 said:

Going back to the "always/never" idea, you can say that your relief area is NEVER two clublengths radius when taking free relief.

It's really late and I'm overly tired, but isn't the area for relief from a TIO one club length, and then you drop in the second club length? Which is dropping more than one club length away from where you achieve relief.

If I'm wrong, screw it, it's late. But I didn't think I'd remember this in the morning. 😉 

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
8 hours ago, iacas said:

It's really late and I'm overly tired, but isn't the area for relief from a TIO one club length, and then you drop in the second club length? Which is dropping more than one club length away from where you achieve relief.

If I'm wrong, screw it, it's late. But I didn't think I'd remember this in the morning. 😉 

That's an interesting thing.  Line of sight interference from a TIO is defined as existing when the TIO is within one CL of a direct line between the ball and the hole.  Therefore the Nearest Point of Complete Relief is on that far edge of the 1-CL "corridor", and the Relief Area is one CL from there.  So yes, you DO measure as much as 2 CL, but the relief area is just 1 CL.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 8/30/2023 at 8:01 AM, DaveP043 said:

That's an interesting thing.  Line of sight interference from a TIO is defined as existing when the TIO is within one CL of a direct line between the ball and the hole.  Therefore the Nearest Point of Complete Relief is on that far edge of the 1-CL "corridor", and the Relief Area is one CL from there.  So yes, you DO measure as much as 2 CL, but the relief area is just 1 CL.  

Right - I think on the basis that if you dropped in the first clublength you would not have taken full relief, you're right to say that you only have one clublength for your relief. It just starts further away than you might normally expect.

  • Like 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
17 minutes ago, Ty_Webb said:

Right - I think on the basis that if you dropped in the first clublength you would not have taken full relief, you're right to say that you only have one clublength for your relief. It just starts further away than you might normally expect.

To me these are interesting discussions, because as I've said, the more of these "always/never" things I find, the easier the Rules are to understand and remember.  In the spirit of finding exceptions, I'll ask:

When your ball is embedded, what is the only situation in which you are NOT allowed to substitute a different ball?

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
7 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

When your ball is embedded, what is the only situation in which you are NOT allowed to substitute a different ball?

On the putting green? If your ball is not in the general area, you don't get relief, so technically you aren't allowed to substitute. But on the green, it says "replace the ball" so my guess is that's the exception.

  • Informative 1

  • Moderator
Posted
7 minutes ago, Dick Kusleika said:

On the putting green? If your ball is not in the general area, you don't get relief, so technically you aren't allowed to substitute. But on the green, it says "replace the ball" so my guess is that's the exception.

Exactly!  As you say, Rule 16.3 for Embedded Ball relief specifically says it doesn't apply on the Putting Green, but that you play under Rule 13 for Putting Green.  You may mark and lift THE ball, repair the damage, and replace THE ball.  I was quizzed about this by a much more experienced referee, a retired D-1 golf coach, but his wording was a little different.  I think he asked "When taking relief for an Embedded Ball....", and I argued with that wording.  If you're on the Putting Green, you're not taking relief, you're not operating under Rule 16.

This brings another thing to look for when trying to read and understand the Rules.  The word "the" is used to refer something specific, "a" refers to something else.  The distinction shows up when talking about THE putting Green, THE teeing area, THE ball, THE bunker, and I'm sure many more that I'm leaving out.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 840 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 23: weird day, and only had a little bit of time. Just did mirror work again, working on where the elbow is in the downswing 
    • I flipped over to this tonight and thoroughly enjoyed it. Anyone else watch? I picked it up during the golf relay event, but seeing these pros out having fun in alternative events was refreshing and entertaining. I’m sure it will be on in reruns in the next week or so, so I won’t spoil the outcome. Im curious what others thought of it. I’m recording it’s later airing to see the beginning. 
    • Day 443 - 2025-12-17 Made a few swings in testing some things out at another academy. Might pop up on someone else's podcast in a few weeks.
    • Day 37 (17 Dec 25) - nine hole round with my good friend.  We got paired up with a couple of the men’s group regulars as part of their shootout.  Started off with a wonderful quad bogie and then a dbl on three to be six over thru three holes.  Game went 180° over the next five as I shot one under (including a chip in birdie on hole six and four up and down 1 putt pars) for a net finish of five over. What could have been a really tough nine became a solid finish due to staying in the moment and not checking out.  Great day in course management and keeping perspective .
    • Day 127 12-17 Backswing and flow practice. Took advantage of the 60 degeee weather(it was 20 degrees Sunday)
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.