IGNORED

Need Advice on Completing My Bag

New member here.  A 50 year old total beginner.  I have decided to get some lessons on the regular.  I have one next month.  I have purchased the Wilson D9 irons.  I got a great deal on them, brand new, and trying to sell the Titleist AP1's I have.  The technology is so advanced compared to the 712 AP1's.  Currently, I don't have anything in between my driver and 5 iron.  I just need a couple of clubs to close the gap.  I am going to ask the instructor which route he thinks I should take in regards to hybrids or woods or both.  I do have a budget in mind.  Just for discussion, what do you all think about these?  I am looking for something for a 50 year old beginner.  I just want to hit the ball straight and as far as my body allows.  Any advice on any of these would be appreciated.

HYBRIDS:
Tour Edge E522 Hybrid #5... 25 degrees. $100
Wilson Launchpad 2 Hybrid #5... 25.5 degrees. $80
FAIRWAY:
Callaway Steelhead XR 5 Wood... 18 degrees. $110
Wilson Launchpad 2; 5 Wood... 18 degrees. $85
Wilson Launchpad 2; 7 Wood... 22 degrees. $80
Snake Eyes Golf MAX 5 Wood... 18 degrees. $100
Mizuno ST-X 220 5 Wood... 18 degrees. $120

• boogielicious changed the title to Need Advice on Completing My Bag
  • Administrator
9 hours ago, collegefbfan said:

A 50 year old total beginner.

My recommendation is to get out and play some… and not worry about completing your bag just yet.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Grab a used 5W that you can hit - try it out in shop to make sure it will work for you. Then...