IGNORED

Starting from Scratch

ts103706
Note: This thread is 5829 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello, I am new to golf. I did a couple searches, but I have been unable to find any good articles for beginning golfers. Most of what I found was just advertisements. I have two questions.

1. Should I take lessons?
-I have golfed several times throughout the last 4 years. I am to the point now where I can golf and not hold up people behind me, but I am still pretty bad. I very rarely meet par. I ask if I should take lessons because I do not know of any other options, and I do not know if these other options can even stand up to lessons.

2. How and when should I go about purchasing new equipment?
-Right now I switch between my dad's ancient bottom line Wilsons and my sister's new Calaway Big Bertha set, of which I do significantly better with the Calaways. I would really like to avoid buying cheap gear. I see purchasing new clubs as an investment, and if I buy cheap clubs now, I will just end up spending more money on better clubs later.

If you are serious about wanting to be better and can afford it, take some lessons. If you just want to go out and play once a month then it is probably not worth the time and money. If you take lessons now it will be much easier for the pro to get you in a correct swing. Once you start playing regularly it will be harder for you to change since you will have built up the muscle memory from your current swing. You can read books and magazine articles about how to do this and that, but it is much easier to learn when someone with a trained eye can immediately correct flaws. It will take more than a few, so be prepared to go 6-8 times or more until you start feeling comfortable.