IGNORED

'Frankly Golf' perspectives on newbie drivers...

99s
Note: This thread is 5781 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi,

I'm a newbie golfer currently wrestling with my swing and especially my driver. A few weeks ago I bought a Taylor Made R580-XD with a stiff flex (doh!) and 10.5 loft.

Reading through the archive of driver Q & A at the Frankly Golf website...

http://www.franklygolf.com/Q_A/driver.asp

...and considering that my best straight (a rarity, I am prone to slice mightily) shots at the driving range go ~200 yds suggests that I might be better off with a ~460cc, regular flex shaft, perhaps a bit more loft, and a 44" length.

Does any mfgrs currently make such an animal?

If not, about how much would it cost to replace my 580's stiff shaft with a shorter regular flex?

tia,

99s

I found the same thing first hand. Bought a pre-owned R5 Dual in N config with a stiff shaft (450cc) even though the guy told me to get a regular shaft driver. Went to the range, hit it decent. Played a few rounds and sprayed it in the woods every single shot. Returned it last night and going to get something else or just keep teeing off with my Adams 3 hybrid which is going about 250 yds straight most of the time.

You might want to check out the Nickent 3dx square with 12* head and regular shaft. They're $99 new just about everywhere now.

SLDR 430 TP Graphite Design DI-6s
SLDR Mini Driver TP Graphite Design DI-6s
SLDR 4h Matrix Black Tie 95s
Ping G25 4-PW
Ping Gorge 50, 54, 58

Ping Anser IWI

You might want to check out the Nickent 3dx square with 12* head and regular shaft. They're $99 new just about everywhere now.

I just Googled it and checked the specs - that's a 46" length.

99s

Cleveland Hibore XL 2w would be about right. Don't know what the head volume is but it is more like a driver than a FW.