IGNORED

Swing Speed

Note: This thread is 3502 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I went and got my swing speed measured at Dicks and asked the person working the golf department if as you progress and your game gets better (I'm a beginner) if your swing speed can increase. I was told that generally players' swing speed stays pretty consistent and won't change too much. Is this correct? Can your swing speed increase from 80mph to say 95mph over time?

Also, my iron swing speed was clocked at 70mph and my driver speed was 80mph. However, in my defense I'm dealing with a pretty painful foot injury wearing sport sandals and wasn't able to swing as complete and powerful as I would have liked to. Given this information, should I get all graphite shafts or should I stick to my plan of getting my iron set with steel shafts and hope that my swing speed will increase as my game develops (assuming that's possible)?

Well... You are only 36. I wouldn't say you SHOULD be in graphite yet... It is ok in the woods because of the drastic JUMP in quality they are putting into them. Sadly, the irons are still a few years away from being where the woods of today are.

Whatever feels comfortable for you really.

What club do you hit from 150yards on an average day?

Well... You are only 36. I wouldn't say you SHOULD be in graphite yet... It is ok in the woods because of the drastic JUMP in quality they are putting into them. Sadly, the irons are still a few years away from being where the woods of today are.

I actually don't know what handicap I am since I've only played a hand full of times on a Pro-Am Par3 course, so I just put that I was a 36 handicap randomly. I've only used a few clubs from an old set that belonged to my girlfriends grandfather. To answer your question, from 150 yards out I pull out the 7 iron.