Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Hit OB from hazard, but didn't know it


Note: This thread is 6325 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Coming out of a hazard from behind a green, I hit the ball too far. Far too far. The ball entered a copse of trees about 15 yards downhill from the green. I raked the sand and then went to find my ball. It had gone 6" past a fence marking OB and was clearly visible.

Now I know I needed to go back and hit from the hazard again. But do I have an additional penalty for having raked the sand?

Thanks

Posted
2 shot penalty in stroke play or loss of hole in match play for improving the area you were supposed to drop in. Rule 13

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
2 shot penalty in stroke play or loss of hole in match play for improving the area you were supposed to drop in. Rule 13

Damn man.. You are the rules genie!

So, what should he have done? Hit a provisional and then rake or not rake at all?
Drivers:
FT-i Draw 9* W/Grafalloy Red
Sumo2 5900 9.5* W/Grafalloy Red

Irons: A3OS 3-PW Graphite/Steel regularWedges: A3OS GW, SW, LWPutter: Rossa Monza SpiderLittle round white thing:

Posted
2 shot penalty in stroke play or loss of hole in match play for improving the area you were supposed to drop in. Rule 13

No. See Exception 2 to Rule 13-4. Note the sentence that I highlighted.

2. After making the stroke, if the ball is still in the hazard or has been lifted from the hazard and may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard, provided nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke. If the ball is outside the hazard after the stroke, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
No. See Exception 2 to Rule 13-4. Note the sentence that I highlighted.

Damn, I read it before I posted and still missed that.

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 6325 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.