Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5989 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
I'm not sure if this questions pertains to rules or etiquette, but here is the situation: in a team best ball match play a player from team A concedes a putt for a player on team B. The player from team B proceeds to strike the concede putt, missing the hole for a two putt and team A assesses two strokes.

Now my league partner insists that one the put was conceded, the one put score stands. But I contend that once a ball is played, it must count toward the final score. Who is correct in this situation? And what is there in the rules or your experience of etiquette that applies to my question?

Launcher 2009 10.5º, S
Rescue Dual 16º
Rescue Dual 19º
Maltby MTF 4-pw, Rifle 5.5
Maltby M-Series 52.6, 58.8 2008 AnserOut of the bag: Big Bertha Fusion 15º, YS6+ R (for sale or trade)


Posted
I think it's technically a two shot penalty. Once you're given a putt, you must take it in match play. If you play it out anyway before the hole is over, then it is a two shot penalty added to whatever he/she should have on the hole (putt is given for 4, but played...score is 6).

In my Ogio Ozone Bag:
TM Superquad 9.5* UST Proforce 77g Stiff
15* Sonartec SS-2.5 (Pershing stiff)
19* TM Burner (stock stiff)
4-U - PING i10 White dot, +1.25 inches, ZZ65 stiff shafts55*/11* Snake Eyes Form Forged (DGS300)60*/12* Snake Eyes Form Forged (DGS300)Ping i10 1/2 MoonTitleist ProV1


Posted
After the putt/hole/score was conceded. wouldn't the following putt be just a practice putt (which I understand is allowed in match play)?

(ps: I haven't consulted the rule book yet, doing it from memory)

"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
My regular pasture.


Posted
I think it's technically a two shot penalty. Once you're given a putt, you must take it in match play. If you play it out anyway before the hole is over, then it is a two shot penalty added to whatever he/she should have on the hole (putt is given for 4, but played...score is 6).

Incorrect.

Rule 2-4 "A concession may not be declined or withdrawn" Once the putt is conceded, the score is determined. Strokes made after the concession would be considered practice strokes. Rule 7 applies: "7-2. During Round A player must not make a practice stroke during play of a hole. Between the play of two holes, a player must not make a practice stroke, except that he may practice putting or chipping on or near: (a) the putting green of the hole last played..." Note however, this practice may be prohibited by special condition: "Note 2: The Committee may, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1), prohibit: (a) practice on or near the putting green of the hole last played, and (b) rolling a ball on the putting green of the hole last played...." Hope this helps. The rules are online you know... http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules...and-Decisions/

Posted
I believe the hole is over once the putt has been conceded and any putting after that would be practice, which is permitted.

If you're trying to keep a somewhat accurate score for posting purposes, you have to be honest with yourself on counting how many additional strokes it likely would have taken to complete the hole. For example, if you're 2 ft away, you can call that one more stroke to hole out. If you're 25 ft away, that's likely 2 strokes.

..................
No brand loyalty at all!

Driver: Speedline 10.5*
Fairway woods: 905F 15* and Big Bertha 19*Hybrid: DWS 3HIrons: 2008 FP 4-GWWedge: Carnoustie 56*Putter: Zing Anser 2i


  • Administrator
Posted
What's the status of Player A's partner's ball? That's a critical piece of missing information. And is the other team done playing, too? Does the concession truly wrap up "play" on that hole, or is there still play to be conducted?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Ok, so I owe the disgruntled player form team B an apology.

I guess my instincts just told me that once a ball is played, it must count. Now I have something to write the USGA about. ;)

Launcher 2009 10.5º, S
Rescue Dual 16º
Rescue Dual 19º
Maltby MTF 4-pw, Rifle 5.5
Maltby M-Series 52.6, 58.8 2008 AnserOut of the bag: Big Bertha Fusion 15º, YS6+ R (for sale or trade)


Posted
Iacas,

In this case team A had not finished the hole. They had a putt of lesser length than team B, subsequently made, that would have tied the hole if two strokes had not been counted after the conceded putt.

Launcher 2009 10.5º, S
Rescue Dual 16º
Rescue Dual 19º
Maltby MTF 4-pw, Rifle 5.5
Maltby M-Series 52.6, 58.8 2008 AnserOut of the bag: Big Bertha Fusion 15º, YS6+ R (for sale or trade)


Posted
Since this was best ball play, I think it matters whether the putt conceded to Team B was the first putt or second putt. Often, a putt may be conceded where one player already has a high score so that his putt is not used by the other team member to help read the green. If the first putt was conceded, I believe play by Team B would not have been completed and therefore practice would not be permitted until the second team member had also completed the hole. I did not find this in the rule book, but I believe this is correct. If someone is aware of any authority for this, I would love to know.

Posted
Iacas,

This changes the situation because practice is allowed only on the "hole last played." If the hole is still in play, that practice putt may have cost team B the hole.


Posted
This changes the situation because practice is allowed only on the "hole last played." If the hole is still in play, that practice putt may have cost team A the hole.

Don't you mean Team B would lose the hole? Didn't the OP say Team B took the practice putt before Team A finished?

"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
My regular pasture.


Posted
Don't you mean Team B would loose the hole? Didn't the OP say Team B took the practice putt before Team A finished?

My bad... I meant Team B would lose the hole (edited post), HOWEVER:

Here is a decision from rule 7: 2-4/6 Putting Out After Concession of Stroke Rule 2-4 does not cover the question of whether a player may putt out after his next stroke has been conceded. A player incurs no penalty for holing out in such circumstances. However, if the act would be of assistance to a partner in a four-ball or best-ball match, the partner is, in equity (Rule 1-4), disqualified for the hole. But it sounds like team B had completed the hole, the practice putt would not have assisted the partner, so at this point, I'm not sure there is any penalty.

Posted
Was this match play or stroke play. If it is stroke play, a putt can not be conceded. I don't care how many times you said it, the other team must finish the hole. If not there is a penalty involved for moving the ball, the ball must be replaced and the hole finished. In match play, once a hole is conceded, the score is determined and him putting at the hole is incidental. In true etiquette, if a putt is conceded, pick it up and if you want to putt it anyway, allow the other team to finish the hole before you do practice. I have never seen practice putting made against the rules by local rule for match play. In stroke play, by local rule a tournament committee can prohibit practice putting and chipping after the play of a hole.

My swing thoughts:

- Negative thinking hurts more than negative swinging.
- I let my swing balance me.
- Full extension back and through to the target. - I swing under not around my body. - My club must not twist in my swing. - Keep a soft left knee


Posted
My bad... I meant Team B would lose the hole (edited post), HOWEVER:

Having read this thread twice I could not find if the other member of Team B had already completed the hole. If yes, then the concession stands and no penalties. If not, then Team B would lose the hole IF the practise putt would have assisted the other member. A mere info of fastness of the green would not constitute 'assistance', the line of these two putts of Team B would have to have been similar.

Posted
Was this match play or stroke play. If it is stroke play, a putt can not be conceded. I don't care how many times you said it, the other team must finish the hole. If not there is a penalty involved for moving the ball, the ball must be replaced and the hole finished. In match play, once a hole is conceded, the score is determined and him putting at the hole is incidental. In true etiquette, if a putt is conceded, pick it up and if you want to putt it anyway, allow the other team to finish the hole before you do practice. I have never seen practice putting made against the rules by local rule for match play. In stroke play, by local rule a tournament committee can prohibit practice putting and chipping after the play of a hole.

Read the OP, it was best ball match.

"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
My regular pasture.


Posted
Since this was best ball play, I think it matters whether the putt conceded to Team B was the first putt or second putt. Often, a putt may be conceded where one player already has a high score so that his putt is not used by the other team member to help read the green. If the first putt was conceded, I believe play by Team B would not have been completed and therefore practice would not be permitted until the second team member had also completed the hole. I did not find this in the rule book, but I believe this is correct. If someone is aware of any authority for this, I would love to know.

That is the way I have always understood it to be but I can find nothing in the Rules, either,

Index 2.8
In the bag: Rapture V2 10.5, Ping G10 Hybrids (18/21/24), Ping i10s (5-PW), Ping Tour Wedges (52/56/60), Ping Anser, TM Burner ball, Golf Guru GPS


Posted
Was this match play or stroke play. If it is stroke play, a putt can not be conceded. I don't care how many times you said it, the other team must finish the hole. If not there is a penalty involved for moving the ball, the ball must be replaced and the hole finished. In match play, once a hole is conceded, the score is determined and him putting at the hole is incidental. In true etiquette, if a putt is conceded, pick it up and if you want to putt it anyway, allow the other team to finish the hole before you do practice. I have never seen practice putting made against the rules by local rule for match play. In stroke play, by local rule a tournament committee can prohibit practice putting and chipping after the play of a hole.

Actually, if it is best-ball stoke play competition, a stroke can be conceded according to the handicap manual.

Example 1: A and B are partners in a four-ball stroke play competition. On a hole on which neither player receives a handicap stroke, A lies two, 18 feet from the hole. B lies two, 25 feet from the hole. B holes a putt for a 3. A picks up on the hole, because A cannot better B's score. A records X-4 on the scorecard because 4 is A's most likely score.

and the Rule Book:

Q. A and B are partners in four-ball stroke play. At the 10th hole, A picks up and B holes out in 5 strokes. The marker records a score of 6 for A and a score of 5 for B. The card is returned with these scores recorded. Is any penalty incurred because A-B returned a card containing a score for A at a hole which A did not complete? A. No. Rule 31-7a provides that disqualification of a side under Rule 6-6d applies only when the recorded score of the partner whose score is to count is lower than actually taken. The score recorded for A was not A-B's lower score for the 10th hole. Accordingly, no penalty is applicable.

In the Bag:
Driver: R5 Draw
Fairway: Diamond Tour Turner Ablaze 3 Wood
Hybrid: R5 3 hybrid Currently for sale.
Irons: Diamond Tour Turner Ablaze Plus 3-SWPutter: Revolution Solid


Posted
Actually, if it is best-ball stoke play competition, a stroke can be conceded according to the handicap manual.

I think You are mixing things pretty bad. First of all, in stroke play strokes canNOT be conceded, that is against the very principle of Stroke Play (see Rule 3-2). Secondly, none of these examples indicate that a score of a player not having finished the hole in stroke play would have been taken into account when counting the score for the team. Then again, I have learned that USGA has a lot of rules that deviate from those used outside USA so maybe here is another strange exception no based on Rules of Golf.

Note: This thread is 5989 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 36 (16 Dec 25) - continued the exaggerated left foot weight shift trigger adding some easy low flighted pitches with the 5h and a few putting style bump and runs with the 5h as well.
    • Day 442 - 2025-12-16 Got some swings in at an indoor academy a little south of Erie.
    • Has anyone played the new Maxfli forged irons? For the first time in I don't know how many years, they have come out with new clubs. From what I read, Maxfli was bought by Taylor Made a long time ago which then took all of their ball making technology and patents in order to get into that market. The club business was left to whither and the reorganized company, now a part of Dicks / Golfworks / Maltby, is producing these new clubs. (Their Tour X balls which I play are really good.) Anyway, I tried them both out at Golf Galaxy. There's a player's distance iron (XC-3) and a blade (XC-2) and both feel really, really nice, almost "Mizuno-like" in their soft buttery feel and they're a bargain at $800 for a set. I'm planning to ditch my Titleist's and want to go back to a forged iron. I almost pulled the trigger on the Mizuno Pro-245's last summer, but a damaged tendon sheath in my finger combined with a back injury messed up my golf game so I held off. Now the Pro-245's are no longer available, soon to be replaced by the MX-15. (At twice the price of the Maxfli's...that's what got my attention in the first place.) If anyone has played with the new Maxfli's or just tried them out like I did, let me know what you think.
    • Day 126 12-16 Back swing and rotation work today. Didn't hit any balls. Focusing on rotating and getting to lead side. 
    • Wordle 1,641 4/6 ⬜⬜⬜🟨🟩 ⬜⬜⬜🟩⬜ 🟨⬜🟨🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.