Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Ball is run over by cart - what is the rule?


Note: This thread is 5978 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Last week in league play one of my playing partner's ball was run over by a cart from the group in front of us. Don't know if it was intentional or not. It was already in pretty deep rough and after having been run over, was buried even more so in the thick stuff.

This guy asked the group for an opinion and after we all decided we had no idea what the rule was, we let him take the ball out and drop within one club length w/o penalty.

Was this correct?

Driver: Burner 10.5 deg
5W: R7 18 deg
3H: Idea Tech
4-PW: MP-57
GW: Vokey 52 degSW: 56 degLW: 60 degPutter: Black Series 1 34"Ball: Pro V1


Posted
Two free drinks. In league play, a hot dog in addition.







Sorry about that.

Driver: Cobra 460SZ 9.0, med.
3 Wood: Taylor stiff
3-hybrid: Nike 18 deg stiff
4-hybrid:
Taylor RBZ 22 deg regular
Irons:5-9, Mizuno MP30, steel
Wedges: PW, 52, 56, 60 Mizuno MP30
Putter: Odyssey 2-ball


Posted
My rule is to dig it out then clean and place.

Driver.... Nickent DX Evolver V2 65 stiff /07 Burner YS6+ stiff .
4 wood..... Nickent 4DX
Hybrids.....Tour Edge Geomax 22* 25* 28*
Irons.....TM R7 6-P + AW,SW,LW
Putter.....Odyssey White Hot XG 2 BallBag.......Callaway ORG 14 A.L.I.C.E. Ball........Bridgestone e6 / Srixon Soft Feel...


Posted
He has full permision to beat the hell out of the people who did that to him. That's the Dutch standing rule, anyway.

Posted
Last week in league play one of my playing partner's ball was run over by a cart from the group in front of us. Don't know if it was intentional or not. It was already in pretty deep rough and after having been run over, was buried even more so in the thick stuff.

It should have been placed within one club length in a lie similar to what it was in before being run over by the cart.

18-1. By Outside Agency If a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1. 20-3. Placing and Replacing b. Lie of Ball to Be Placed or Replaced Altered If the original lie of a ball to be placed or replaced has been altered: (i) except in a hazard, the ball must be placed in the nearest lie most similar to the original lie that is not more than one club-length from the original lie, not nearer the hole and not in a hazard; (ii) in a water hazard, the ball must be placed in accordance with Clause(i) above, except that the ball must be placed in the water hazard; (iii) in a bunker, the original lie must be re-created as nearly as possible and the ball must be placed in that lie.

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
When it's just some friends and I sometimes we will ride over their ball and plug it into the ground for fun.

MacTec 460 Draw Driver
V-Foil M565 Irons
MT 3 Wood
GigaGolf 52deg gap wedge
Wilson 55deg sand wedge MT Don White 60deg Lob wedgeknockoff 2-ball putter


Posted

In this situation you may clean and place and I belive the rule book says that you may beat the driver of the cart without penalty.

Duffy,

Striving every day to be the person my dogs think I am.
 

Driver; Ping G25, Fairway, Ping G25 3; Irons, Mizuno M59, wedges, Cleveland cg15, 54, 56, 60, Putter; See More Zack style.


Posted
Thanks for the replies. I am glad we did the right thing.

As to whether it was intentional or not, I simply don't know. This was a dogleg right and ball owner cut the corner and made it about 40 yds from the pin in the right rough. He MAY have driven it into the group ahead of us and it could have been a "message" from them, or it could have been that the rough was too thick and they simply did not see it.

Driver: Burner 10.5 deg
5W: R7 18 deg
3H: Idea Tech
4-PW: MP-57
GW: Vokey 52 degSW: 56 degLW: 60 degPutter: Black Series 1 34"Ball: Pro V1


Posted
Thanks for the replies. I am glad we did the right thing.

No, you did not do the right thing.

First, you dropped the ball when it should have been placed (2 penalties for that, Rule 20-3). Secondly, you did NOT beat the driver. Next time you'll know

Note: This thread is 5978 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.