Jump to content
IGNORED

Tourney Ruling


Bug Bunny
 Share

Note: This thread is 4782 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Went and watched a friend play in a tourney Sunday. The course is pretty nice but the hazards were not after a Saturday rain. Anyway a player hit his ball in the sand trap right off the green. After the rain the night before, his ball was sitting in 8 inches of water. What's the official thing to do??

In my Nike SasQuatch Staff Bag:
Driver: Callaway FT-IQ 9.5 Stiff
Irons: Ping G5 4-P
Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 56*, Cleveland bent to 49*
Putter: Scotty Cameron California Monterey
Ball: Srizon Z-Star Yellow
Range: SkyCaddie 2.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Drop in a dry spot in the bunker, no penalty.
Call it unplayable, use that rule.
Play it out.
I'm sure Erik will come by with the numbers for the rule.

905R
LD-F 3-Wood
755
Vokey Oil-Can 252-08 degree
Cobra C Wedge 56-11 Vokey Oil-Can 260-08 degree Scotty Cameron Newport 2 35'' Pro V1x

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Good deal. THANKS!!!

In my Nike SasQuatch Staff Bag:
Driver: Callaway FT-IQ 9.5 Stiff
Irons: Ping G5 4-P
Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 56*, Cleveland bent to 49*
Putter: Scotty Cameron California Monterey
Ball: Srizon Z-Star Yellow
Range: SkyCaddie 2.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Rule 25-1 Abnormal Ground Conditions

[...]

(ii) In a Bunker:
If the ball is in a bunker, the player must lift the ball and drop it either:
(a) Without penalty , in accordance with Clause (i) [= nearest point of relief] above, except that the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker, or if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, on a part of the course in the bunker that affords maximum available relief from the condition; or
(b) Under penalty of one stroke , outside the bunker, keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.


Nice thing to know : you can clean the ball before you drop it.


G.

In my ⬠49.95 bag :

Driver : Euhm... not there yet, but hopefully getting closer
Woods : Superfast Burner 3 Wood 15°
i4-PW : CG GoldGW : 252.08SW : CG12 56°Putter : Rossa Suzuka 35"Balls : Gold FX Long

Link to comment
Share on other sites


The entire bunker had standing water. He removed the ball, cleaned it and dropped it in line with his shot at the closest point, no closer to the hole and did not incur a penalty stroke. Looks like that was the correct ruling.

In my Nike SasQuatch Staff Bag:
Driver: Callaway FT-IQ 9.5 Stiff
Irons: Ping G5 4-P
Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 56*, Cleveland bent to 49*
Putter: Scotty Cameron California Monterey
Ball: Srizon Z-Star Yellow
Range: SkyCaddie 2.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Not how I read it :(

It seems like, drop in bunker, no penalty.

Drop outside of bunker, penalty.

?

Driver: Nike Ignite 10.5 w/ Fujikura Motore F1
2H: King Cobra
4H: Nickent 4DX
5H: Adams A3
6I 7I 8I 9I PW: Mizuno mp-57Wedges: Mizuno MP T-10 50, 54, 58 Ball: random

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Maybe I'm reading it wrong. With the entire bunker having standing water, it doesn't seem fair that he incur a penalty stroke.

In my Nike SasQuatch Staff Bag:
Driver: Callaway FT-IQ 9.5 Stiff
Irons: Ping G5 4-P
Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 56*, Cleveland bent to 49*
Putter: Scotty Cameron California Monterey
Ball: Srizon Z-Star Yellow
Range: SkyCaddie 2.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Not how I read it :(

You're correct, the player in the OP played improperly. Decision 33-8/27: Local Rule Providing Relief Without Penalty from Bunker Filled with Casual Water Q. May a Committee make a Local Rule allowing a player to drop out of any bunker filled with casual water, without penalty, contrary to Rule 25-1b(ii)? A. No. The Committee may not make a Local Rule providing generally that flooded bunkers are ground under repair through the green as such a Local Rule waives a penalty imposed by the Rules of Golf, contrary to Rule 33-8b. However, in conditions of extreme wetness, where certain specific bunkers are completely flooded prior to the competition commencing and there is no reasonable likelihood of the bunkers drying up during the competition, the Committee may, in such exceptional circumstances, introduce a Local Rule providing that specific bunkers, which are known to be flooded prior to the competition commencing, are deemed to be ground under repair and classified as through the green. Therefore relief may be taken outside these bunkers without penalty in accordance with Rule 25-1b(i). In a competition played over more than one round, such a Local Rule may be introduced or rescinded between rounds Unless the Committee had designated certain specific bunkers as "ground under repair", if the ball is removed from the bunker, even if it's completely flooded, it is done so under penalty of one stroke. It's a tough rule.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Found this ruling on the usga site :

25-1b/5 Explanation of "Maximum Available Relief" from Casual Water in Bunker

Q. In a bunker completely covered by casual water, is the place providing "maximum available relief" the spot which will provide the most relief for both lie and stance or just lie?

A. The term applies to both lie and stance. The spot providing "maximum available relief" might be such that the ball will be in shallower water than the player's feet after he takes his stance, or vice versa.

and

5-1b/6 Ball Dropped from Casual Water in Bunker at Point of Maximum Relief Rolls Elsewhere

Q. A player whose ball lies in a bunker completely covered by casual water drops his ball under Rule 25-1b(ii) at a spot where there is 1⁄4 inch of casual water. This spot is the nearest spot providing maximum available relief. The ball rolls into a spot where there is about 1⁄2 inch of casual water. What is the ruling?

A. In equity (Rule 1-4), and under the principle of Rule 20-2c(v), the player may re-drop and, if the ball so rolls again, place the ball where it first struck a part of the course when re-dropped.

and also

Q. If a player's ball lies in a bunker completely covered by casual water, what are his options?

A. The player may play the ball as it lies or:

(1) drop the ball in the bunker without penalty at the nearest point, not nearer the hole, where the depth of the casual water is least — Rule 25-1b(ii)(a); or

(2) drop the ball behind the bunker under penalty of one stroke — Rule 25-1b(ii)(b); or

(3) deem the ball unplayable and proceed in accordance with Rule 28.




From which I deduct that if you want to avoid a penalty stroke, you have to drop it in the bunker, no matter what. As soon as you drop it outside the bunker, you have a penalty stroke.


G.

In my ⬠49.95 bag :

Driver : Euhm... not there yet, but hopefully getting closer
Woods : Superfast Burner 3 Wood 15°
i4-PW : CG GoldGW : 252.08SW : CG12 56°Putter : Rossa Suzuka 35"Balls : Gold FX Long

Link to comment
Share on other sites


David, I stand corrected sir. Well, then he should have incured a penalty. Oh well, good info. Thanks.

So according to that, the committee could have ruled that before play began and specified which bunkers but once play began, it's a penaltl??? Correct??

In my Nike SasQuatch Staff Bag:
Driver: Callaway FT-IQ 9.5 Stiff
Irons: Ping G5 4-P
Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 56*, Cleveland bent to 49*
Putter: Scotty Cameron California Monterey
Ball: Srizon Z-Star Yellow
Range: SkyCaddie 2.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


David, I stand corrected sir. Well, then he should have incured a penalty. Oh well, good info. Thanks.

Correct. Doesn't seem fair, but then, it's golf ........ 99% of the time you're simply going to take relief from the water and drop within the bunker. Of course, when you drop in a bunker, the ball will usually bury a bit too......sometimes you just can't win for losing in this silly game!

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4782 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Wordle 465 4/6* ⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛ ⬛⬛🟦⬛⬛ ⬛🟧⬛🟧⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Obviously this would be different if she was on the putting surface...Not the shank situation (I hope) but the fact of your ball striking your equipment! You would then incur a penalty?
    • Day 201.  Wind-down for a little over ten minutes today after work was hitting quarter shots with a UW, focus on setup and grip. 
    • It’s been a while since I’ve been on here, life has really been a whirlwind. I’m working on a certain drill where I put an alignment stick angled in the ground on the follow-through side for the club to rise above in the P7-P8 phase, but I’m not sure which angle is best. I’m using TGM terms here, so I don’t know if it should be set on the elbow plane or the turned shoulder plane. This alignment stick is going to be on the inside, by the way, can’t have it on the outside as it’s more likely for the ball to hit it!   I feel as if the elbow plane might be too low for P7-P8 and that I should set it higher. What are your opinions if you have experience with this drill?
    • Day 16: Continued working on the same stuff. Still need to record swings to check if grip thing is making it into full swings all the time. Had a nice cathartic ball hitting session midday taking a break from work, had a nice rhythm going and was hitting the ball crisply. Later in the evening tried to get that same groove back but couldn't quite get there, and then I started chasing stuff and ended up not really practicing very effectively, but I hit a bunch of balls.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (52 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (31 years old)
    3. ButterCuts1372
      ButterCuts1372
      (37 years old)
    4. Dombaker
      Dombaker
      (26 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...