Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Marking a putting line.... is it in USGA regs????


Note: This thread is 5930 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Marking a putting line.... is it in USGA regs????

Forget your opponents; always play against par. ~Sam Snead

Sumo2 5900 9.5, ProForce V2 stiff
Diablo 3w
Baffler TWS 3h MP57 4-pw VR wedge 52.10, 56.14 TPz 60.06 Studio Style Newport 2 SG5ProV1x


Posted
Rule 8-2 (b)

"When the player's ball is on the putting green, the player, his partner or either of their caddies may, before but not during the stroke, point out a line for putting, but in so doing the putting green must not be touched. A mark must not be placed anywhere to indicate a line for putting."

Brad Eisenhauer

In my bag:
Driver: Callaway Hyper X 10° | Fairway Wood: GigaGolf PowerMax GX920 3W (15°) | Hybrid: GigaGolf PowerMax GX920 3 (20°)
Irons: Mizuno MX-25 4-PW | Wedges: GigaGolf Tradition SGS Black 52°, 56°, 60° | Putter: GigaGolf CenterCut Classic SP3

Ball: Titleist ProV1x or Bridgestone B330S


  • Administrator
Posted
Do you mean drawing a line on your golf ball? Or what? Can you clarify what you mean?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Marking a putting line.... is it in USGA regs????

If you're referring to marking a line on your ball, that's fine. Making any sort of mark on the putting surface to indicate your ball's path to the hole is a two-stroke penalty.


Posted
i was referring to marking a line on the ball. thank you ~Zach

Forget your opponents; always play against par. ~Sam Snead

Sumo2 5900 9.5, ProForce V2 stiff
Diablo 3w
Baffler TWS 3h MP57 4-pw VR wedge 52.10, 56.14 TPz 60.06 Studio Style Newport 2 SG5ProV1x


Posted
But be careful, one common infraction is people who rotate the ball to point the line at the hole without first marking the ball. you cannot realign the ball uless it has been marked.

Posted
That is a common infraction?

Wow!

(I'll take your word for it tho')

Driver: Cobra 460SZ 9.0, med.
3 Wood: Taylor stiff
3-hybrid: Nike 18 deg stiff
4-hybrid:
Taylor RBZ 22 deg regular
Irons:5-9, Mizuno MP30, steel
Wedges: PW, 52, 56, 60 Mizuno MP30
Putter: Odyssey 2-ball


Posted
But be careful, one common infraction is people who rotate the ball to point the line at the hole without first marking the ball. you cannot realign the ball uless it has been marked.

As long as you mark with something (when I'm playing by myself, I'll just mark with the toe of my putter, it is within the rules to do that), you're fine. When you're playing with others, it's best to use a coin.


Posted
iv layed my putter down on the green in a tournament

|callaway.gif X460 Tour Fujikura Tour Platform 26.3 73g | taylormade.gif 2i Rescue 11 |  3i HiBore Hybrid |  710 MB |  Wedge Works 48/06 |  cg12 52/08  | vokey.gifSpin Milled 56/11 | nike.gifSV Tour 60/10 | cameron.gif Studio Select Newport 2 34" |

 

rangefinder : LR550


Posted
Isn't their a limit to the length of the line you can put on your ball for aiming purposes? I thought the pro v1 and others used the maximum allowable line length.

R9 with 757 Speeder
mp 57 3-pw project x 6.0 flighted
Vokey* 56* 60*
Monza Corsa Putter


  • Administrator
Posted
Isn't their a limit to the length of the line you can put on your ball for aiming purposes? I thought the pro v1 and others used the maximum allowable line length.

There's no limit. You can make a line go all the way around your ball if you want.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
As long as you mark with something (when I'm playing by myself, I'll just mark with the toe of my putter, it is within the rules to do that), you're fine. When you're playing with others, it's best to use a coin.

When I have to move the ball a few inches to the side to get out of another player's putting line I will often put my putter head down as a guide, pick up my (unmarked) ball and put it down again on the other end of the head. Hopefully I remember to reverse the process before I putt myself ..

I've never really thought about it but from what you say this would presumably be legal in competitive golf. Is it?

Driver: Cobra 460SZ 9.0, med.
3 Wood: Taylor stiff
3-hybrid: Nike 18 deg stiff
4-hybrid:
Taylor RBZ 22 deg regular
Irons:5-9, Mizuno MP30, steel
Wedges: PW, 52, 56, 60 Mizuno MP30
Putter: Odyssey 2-ball


Posted
When I have to move the ball a few inches to the side to get out of another player's putting line I will often put my putter head down as a guide, pick up my (unmarked) ball and put it down again on the other end of the head. Hopefully I remember to reverse the process before I putt myself .

I've always heard this is against the rules (and thereby incurs a penalty). That the proper routine is to first mark your ball. Place whatever it is your are using to measure your ball in another direction outside of another's line to the hole from the marker. Place your ball at that new point and then mark the ball at that point so that it can be lifted from the green. I suppose you could use your putter head as your mark from the second position but that might prove to be ackward?

Nike Vapor Speed driver 12* stock regular shaft
Nike Machspeed 4W 17*, 7W 21* stock stiff shafts
Ping i10 irons 4-9, PW, UW, SW, LW AWT stiff flex
Titleist SC Kombi 35"; Srixon Z Star XV tour yellow

Clicgear 3.0; Sun Mountain Four 5


Posted

From

http://www.usga.org/RulesFAQ/rules_a...dx=82&Rule;=20:
Rule 20-1 Procedure for Moving Ball-Marker to the Side Q. When moving a ball-marker to the side, must the position of the ball be marked first and then the ball-marker moved, or can I simply measure to the side of the ball? A. The player may either mark the position of the ball, measure to one side of the mark, and move the ball-marker to that spot, or he may place the putter head directly to the side of the ball and place the ball-marker, thereby eliminating one step. See Decision 20-1/16.

However, note that both methods described involve using the ball

marker , whereas the question was "Can I just move my ball?" This ruling doesn't cover that case. It's legal to pick the ball up without using a marker since you have the putter head there, but once you've put the ball down on the other side of the putter head and removed the putter without failing to mark the ball in some way, you're in essence using your ball as the ball marker. I'm pretty sure the ball marker has to be a "small, flat object". What happens if a gust of wind moves the ball, or it's deflected by someone else's ball from off the green? If it was in its original position you'd play it as it lies or replace, respectively. But if it's being used as a marker those rules are out the window. So I'd say that it's probably against the rules, and at best a bad idea. (Although I do it in casual rounds, to save time.)

Bill


Posted
Not so long ago we had a long thread about the requirements for a ball marker-- the rules suggest but do not require an object like a coin. In particular, you are allowed to use the toe of your putter as a mark, among myriad other legal options. However, there are few reasons to do this, and many reasons not to... Whether the ball itself may be used is sort of an interesting question, but I'd say it's ultimately a really bad idea...

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Note: This thread is 5930 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.