Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Okay, another lost and found ball ruling question…


Note: This thread is 5812 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Posted
After all, the Rules allow a player to drop another ball and apply Rule 27-1 at any time.

You could probably find this yourself next time.

Source: 27-1/2 Original Ball Found Within Five-Minute Search Period After Another Ball Dropped Q. A player plays his second shot, searches for his ball briefly and then goes back and drops another ball under Rule 27-1. Before he plays the dropped ball, and within the five-minute search period, the original ball is found. Is the player required to continue with the dropped ball? A. Yes. When the player put the substituted ball into play at the spot of the previous stroke with the intent to play a ball under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1a), the original ball was lost (see Definition of "Lost Ball"). Therefore, Rule 20-6 does not apply, and he must continue with the substituted ball. (Revised)

Note also for rules geeks 27-1/1. It's different for a ball teed versus one dropped.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I just wanted to clear this thing up not only to myself but also to other readers so no faulty ideas are sustained.

Posted
I just wanted to clear this thing up not only to myself but also to other readers so no faulty ideas are sustained.

There are cases where the ball when dropped is

not the ball in play. When it's being dropped as a provisional ball, when it is dropped in an incorrect manner or in a wrong place, or is dropped and rolls into a place not allowed by the rules.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
There are cases where the ball when dropped is

That's correct, and those cases are covered by the subnotes under Rule 20-4.


Note: This thread is 5812 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.