IGNORED

Driving Question

Note: This thread is 6433 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys. I'm just starting out golf and its great so far. I'm pretty obsessed already, even though I have only been on the range.

My irons are progressing, and even though I have cautiously not even touched the driver yet, I am wondering how I should go about learning to hit the woods. I mean, should I use my current crappy driver and get good with that? I imagine if I can hit it well I can hit a good driver better. Or should I get a nice driver that is very "forgiving" to get the stroke down and then work to the less forgiving drivers from there.

On one hand, I can hit straighter shots sooner with a nice driver, and on the other, I learn how to hit a tough driver and then later move on the the forgiving ones. Any tips on this? Thanks.

Quit before it drives you crazy!!

haha- just kididng... kinda.

I would say it all depends on your financial situation and what you are trying to achieve as a golfer. If buying the newest coolest Driver is going to prevent you from buying your kids clothes- then I'd say go with el cheapo. If you have cash to burn, get the expensive one. The fact is- even buying the biggest, most forgiving driver on the market today isn't going to make you good at hitting it- practicing is.

Go midrange and call it a compromise.
In The Bag
Driver: Nike NDS
Hybrid: Ben Hogan CFTi 3 Hybrid (love it)
Irons: Nike NDS
Putter: Odyssey Ball: Titlist DT Solo Stat Tracker:www.oobgolf.com

I don't think it's a good idea to "learn" on one driver then switch to another. Especially if it's a crappy driver. What you're likely to learn are bad habits. Go get a used driver that's decent but affordable and learn on that one. Then after your swing has developed try a few that you think you might like at a demo day.