Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

I could have swore I just saw Ricky Barnes ground his club in the bunker on 14..


Note: This thread is 5624 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
If they show a replay of him hitting the lip of that fairway bunker and the ball rolling back in, he switches clubs and his caddy gives him a LW - when he starts his backswing on his second bunker shot, it looked like some sand was disturbed. Whatever he makes on 14, he should add two strokes.

Posted

Still learning some of the terminology and rules of the game. What did he do wrong by "grounding his club"? I thought sand was always disturbed in the bunker.
Thanks in advance, for explaining.

In my bag:
Driver X460 TOUR OPTIFIT 10.5* Graphite
FW 3W BIG BERTHA DIABLO 13* Graphite
FW 5W BIG BERTHA DIABLO 18* Graphite
Irons X-22 IRONS 5 - PW & SW GraphitePutter Odyssey Dual Force Rossie IIUnder my bag: 2007 EZGO ~ Customized


Posted
Still learning some of the terminology and rules of the game. What did he do wrong by "grounding his club"? I thought sand was always disturbed in the bunker.

in a bunker or in water, you cannot ground your club anytime before the shot.


Posted
Still learning some of the terminology and rules of the game. What did he do wrong by "grounding his club"? I thought sand was always disturbed in the bunker.

Grounding your club means just that - the club touches the ground before your forward-swing. In the fairway or on the tee, this is fine (and a common, legal practice). In a hazard, such as a bunker or if you're hitting out of water, you cannot do this without a penalty.

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Water? You can hit out of water on a fairway and ground the club.

Grounding the club is not allowed in bunkers, water hazards and lateral water hazards.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Water? You can hit out of water on a fairway and ground the club.

But you wouldn't, because it would be casual water and you'd take relief and drop it. Yeah, he could have added the word "hazard".

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.


Posted
I didn't see this. I'll check it out if they show highlight.s.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*
Hybrids Ping G5 (3) 19* Bridgestone J36 (4) 22*
Irons Mizuno MP-57 5-PW
Wedges Srixon WG-504 52.08 Bridgestone WC Copper 56.13
Putter 33" Scotty Cameron Studio Select #2


Posted
Thanks for the explanation, guys!

In my bag:
Driver X460 TOUR OPTIFIT 10.5* Graphite
FW 3W BIG BERTHA DIABLO 13* Graphite
FW 5W BIG BERTHA DIABLO 18* Graphite
Irons X-22 IRONS 5 - PW & SW GraphitePutter Odyssey Dual Force Rossie IIUnder my bag: 2007 EZGO ~ Customized


Posted
But you wouldn't, because it would be casual water and you'd take relief and drop it. Yeah, he could have added the word "hazard".

Thank you. Yes, I should have said hazard.

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
Just saw it. Not even close to grounding his club, nope.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Even if he did I think its ok as long as its part of his swing. Loose impediment

Correct me if I'm wrong here

Tour Burner 9.5 Aldila NV65R
MP-57 3-PW R300
588 SW 54
588 LW 60


Posted
Even if he did I think its ok as long as its part of his swing. Loose impediment

Downswing, yes. Backswing, no.

Touching the sand, ground or loose impediments on the backswing inside a bunker or hazard is a penalty. Touching it on the downswing is not. You can touch grass, plants, trees and other growing, rooted objects, but not loose impediments like pine cones, leaves, branches.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Just saw it. Not even close to grounding his club, nope.

No, and I really think people should think twice when starting a libelous thread like this. Someone could read part of it and assume it actually happened. The OP shouldn't say "whataver he scored he should add 2" - that grates more than the tense challenged "could have swore" in the title. Nowhere in the OP does he say "I am probably wrong but....". He makes the accusation - which is a figment of his imagination - happily casting aspersions on a player's character, which is not really good form, is it?

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

 

 


Posted
No, and I really think people should think twice when starting a libelous thread like this. Someone could read part of it and assume it actually happened. The OP shouldn't say "whataver he scored he should add 2" - that grates more than the tense challenged "could have swore" in the title. Nowhere in the OP does he say "I am probably wrong but....". He makes the accusation - which is a figment of his imagination - happily casting aspersions on a player's character, which is not really good form, is it?

This morning, I saw what I thought was him touching sand during his address on his second bunker shot. I don't have HDTV in my office, so I may not have had the best picture, but I just commented on what I saw. Perhaps I was wrong, as iacas stated.


Note: This thread is 5624 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.