IGNORED

Online Videos - violation of Amateur status?

majorchamp
Note: This thread is 6647 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have already submitted this question to the USGA regarding the possibility that my amateur status could be harmed.

On my future website (see sig), I plan on having a videos section where it shows me hitting some shots.

I might even talk about how to do certain things.

Now, lets say I plan on putting some decent high quality videos online. This would obviously cause a bandwidth situation.

The videos would be free, but I may charge a few bucks for access to the videos area to help pay for the server that would house the videos. So they would be paying me for space on my website, not for the videos, becaus as I said, the videos themselves would be free.

Technically, as an amateur, I could give lessons all day long as long as I don't receive any compensation for those lessons.

Now, the above is an something I might pursue.

But, that isn't word for word what I sent to the USGA because I had another idea.

What I sent to them was that I often film myself swinging. If I was to do this and offer the video for free, but charge the person a fee for the shipping and handling of the video, would that be against the rules?

Now, the USGA Amateur Status part of the website makes the mention of directly or indirectly receiving compensation for the lessons. So I don't know if digital rights playing into that or not.

As I said though, I am merely charging for the materials I have used to either

a. make room for the videos to be downloaded (server).
b. deal with packaging and sending off the dvd (shipping)

So the payment is for the materials, not my swing.

Get my drift?

Anyways, I am doing the right thing by asking around before pursuing this venue.

Thanks

• Administrator