IGNORED

My Swing (brightonrock)

brightonrock
Note: This thread is 4715 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi guys.

I am fairly new to golf, have only been playing a couple of years, and have in that time managed to drag my handicap down from shooting 120 regularly to the low-mid 90s, which I'm pleased with, but want to take the next step. I have broken into the 80s three times, but looking for that golden tip that makes it all 'click' in your head and suddenly things become a little easier. I seem to have rounds of entirely 10/10 shots or 1/10 - absolutely pure and flush out the middle of the clubface or just the more dire slices and tops and thins which make the end result approx 90-100 no matter how well or how badly I putt.

I have previously had a big problem with over-swinging leading to every awful result possible, so I have made a conscious effort over the last few months to shorten my swing a little to gain a bit more control. I tend to hit a (relatively) controllable fade with my longer clubs, but a draw (or push when it goes a bit wrong) with my shorter irons and wedges.