IGNORED

Fore!

teal
Note: This thread is 6264 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,

My name is Andrew. I am new to the game. I have about 9 rounds under my belt. I currently play a set of 199.00 specials from Dick's Sporting goods.

I would like to upgrade this spring but am a bit confused as to just what would be a good set. Looking to go irons first and am concerned about getting a set that are above my ability.

I have played mostly in TX - San Antonio area - used to go almost every weekend when I was stationed there in the military. I either drove the cart (passed out the beverages ) or played. Best course I played there was Golf Club of Texas Very nice!

I used to live in Monterey California - and I credit that with planing the seed for golf. My great-grandmother was an avid golfer and sunday was Jack day on the TV. She golfed all over the country and did 38 holes a day into her 70's IIRC. Those are the reasons I think I was initialy drawn to the game. Now it's about everything else - love being out with the fellas on a Sat morning and hitting a decent shot every 4 holes or so. I admit yesterday I watched LPGA, PGA, th Champions tour and then more LPGA on TV. Kinda makes me a crazy.....

Here to learn and look forward to talking with many of you!

Andrew

It might help if you told a little more about your current clubs, age and ability, and what you want from golf. If your desire is to get as good as possible as quickly as possible, take a few lessons first, somewhere between 3 and 6, and then ask around for a good clubfitter or chain that employs a good fitter. If you have only played 9 rounds you probably will improve qicker from lessons than equipment changes.

1W Cleveland LauncherComp 10.5, 3W Touredge Exotics 15 deg.,FY Wilson 19.5 degree