Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Ball played in water hazard (wh) or lateral water hazard (lwh)


Note: This thread is 4866 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

During our round today, a hypothetical scenario was discussed:

A ball is within a WH or LWH and the player decides to play it as it lies.  The result of his stroke is that the ball remains within the hazard but is now in a worse position, one which negates an attempt at another stroke.  How does the player now proceed?  Is the original point of entry into the hazard still in effect as far as taking a drop etc., or would the new position of the ball within the hazard determine where a drop could take place?

Apologies if this has been covered in a previous thread but I found nothing referring to this situation.


Posted
Originally Posted by dv7834

During our round today, a hypothetical scenario was discussed:

A ball is within a WH or LWH and the player decides to play it as it lies.  The result of his stroke is that the ball remains within the hazard but is now in a worse position, one which negates an attempt at another stroke.  How does the player now proceed?  Is the original point of entry into the hazard still in effect as far as taking a drop etc., or would the new position of the ball within the hazard determine where a drop could take place?

Apologies if this has been covered in a previous thread but I found nothing referring to this situation.


Decision 26-2/1 spells out thre options in great detail. It is too long to quote here so I'll give you a link:

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-26/#26-2/1

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by dv7834

During our round today, a hypothetical scenario was discussed:

A ball is within a WH or LWH and the player decides to play it as it lies.  The result of his stroke is that the ball remains within the hazard but is now in a worse position, one which negates an attempt at another stroke.  How does the player now proceed?  Is the original point of entry into the hazard still in effect as far as taking a drop etc., or would the new position of the ball within the hazard determine where a drop could take place?

Apologies if this has been covered in a previous thread but I found nothing referring to this situation.

The simple answer is yes, as long as the ball didn't cross the hazard margin and then come back in on the stroke played from within the hazard.  The point of reference is always the last point where the ball crossed into the hazard.  If the ball never left the hazard, then it's the point where it originally entered.  If it left the hazard, sliceded back in, hit a tree and bounced back in, or in any other way recrossed the margin, then it's the point where it last crossed the margin on it's return.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4866 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.