IGNORED

Learning how to play - need buying advice

Note: This thread is 4191 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello. I am new to this forum and new to golf. I apologize if this has been discussed already. I just started learning how to play via the get golf ready program in one of our local golf courses and I am thinking about buying a set of clubs. I've seen some complete sets in ebay that are really cheap (wilson and top flite brand). Are these any good? Is it advisable to buy a complete set if you are a beginner or better to buy the clubs individually? Any suggestions?

The most I will spend for everything is 300$. I wish i made more money but anything over that is breaking the bank for me already.

Thanks!

- Jeff

Welcome to the great game of golf, Jeff! And welcome to thesandtrap too.

I'd look at buying a good used set of irons and building from there. Lots of great deals on ebay, etc.. but there is no substitute for actually hitting the clubs. The best advice I can give you is to look for a small golf shop in your area and see what they have for you. Most shops will have a wide selection of used clubs that they've taken in on trade for you to hit. By dealing with a local shop you'll get better service and advice than the big box stores. You should be able to find some good irons for $100-150. You can pickup a good used driver for $100 or less - again, you've got to hit some to find what's going to work for you.

“You don't have the game you played last year or last week. You only have today's game. It may be far from your best, but that's all you've got. Harden your heart and make the best of it.”

~ Walter Hagen