Aha! I had not considered that two competitors who were not partners would have any reason to collude; but, of course, the stricture is there to prevent two individuals from forming a battlefield alliance...so to speak. Kind of an anti-Pinochle rule. Thanks.
It doesn't matter the the partners are playing stroke play or match play, they may still choose which ball to play first if one of the team's balls is the ball that is away. See Rule 30 and 31. The key is that they are partners and as such they can assist each other in other ways with advice and strategy decisions, etc.
If they choose to play the nearer ball, then they still have the honor for the next play.
The prohibition is for individual play so that a player may not assist another competitor just because he happens to be a friend, or he has a wager on the competitor, etc. This stipulation only applies in stroke play if there appears to be collusion between the players. If playing our of turn is just incidental or to save time, there is no penalty.
It's been a rough couple weeks for me. Quite a few 105-112 scores. Then Thursday I squeaked out a 99.
The only thing that saved me that round was that I was fairly accurate from 60 yards in. I've been hot with my approach wedge lately, and my putting is finally coming into mid season form (of course, my season is winding down), but my ball striking has been really off for a while. Crappy drive, slice right, then try to stick it close to twenty feet and then pray for a great putt or a close tap in bogey.
I started off double, bogey, par, then thought to myself : "hey that's bogey golf" before I started to take a few triples and a quad on a par three. I love and hate being my own worst enemy on the golf course.
I really like what was said in an earlier post about when you're struggling you want to see where your ball goes. I agree with that, completely.
When entering my score I accidentally inputted it twice. If I shoot another round in the same area I'll shave half a stroke off my HC. Baby steps. And deep breaths.
Agree, if a bat to the knees is not vigilante justice I don't know what is.
my big issue is the there is no adjustment to the place and time this is all taking place.. It's not even a robbery in progress.. What if you got the wrong guy and he already got the bat to the knee treatment??
the court system has convicted innocent people before, there's no way your going to bat 100% in identifying the thief.
I've always been a fan of a good 5 knuckle beat down on things like this.....I am WAY pro-gun but a gun should only be pulled if your going to use it. And to shoot someone for stealing is a little much. If you give him a very good beating I'm sure he would learn his lesson.