IGNORED

Taylormade ATV wedge issues....

Note: This thread is 4007 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have a few different Taylormade ATV wedges (52 & 60 degree models).  They feel great, look appealing, and are highly recommended.  I have lots of wedges including wedges (PW and AW) that are from my iron set and also have a 52 & 58 wedges that are the old TM wedges, I think they are called the XFT?

Since I'm relatively new to the game I am not that particular about the amount of bounce in a wedge and things like that.  The ATV wedges do not have bounce adjustments, you buy them as is.  The problem that I have with the ATV wedges is that sometime they "scalp" the ground where as the XFT wedges have a nicer bounce to them that I can feel when hitting shots around the green.  They never seem to scalp the ground at all.

The first thing I thought is that it's a ball first contact issue but I know now that this is not the problem because even when I hit the ball first with the ATV wedge after the the club first makes contact with the turf it acts almost as a knife.

Has anyone else had this issue with the ATV wedges?  I guess for now I will play the used XFT wedges that I obtained but I'm not sure what to do in the future.....is this a bounce issue?  If so then how do I get around this considering that TM does not allow you to purchase different lofts in their current wedges?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades