IGNORED

Keep it stock or get a new shaft?

Note: This thread is 3836 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

First post.

I won an R1 driver last week and it came  with a stiff shaft. I just started playing this year and swing speed is not yet that fast for a stiff shaft, 85-88 mph. I am thinking of selling it so I haven't tried to swing it at a golf ball yet but I am also thinking of using it in the future, the dilemma.

I've heard somewhere that the stock Aldila shaft on the R1 is "soft" so I am thinking it might work for me. Can someone please share your experience with the stock shaft. Will it matter if my ss is that slow for the stock stiff shaft? I tried it 2 months ago but my swing crap at that time and I won't be able to get to a sim until next month, I live in the north.

I saw this on ebay, http://www.ebay.ca/itm/370913195841?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 . I wonder if that is a good shaft (I can't get any info) or the stock Aldila regular shaft is better? Budget is limited so I can't really go overboard.

Just a little background, I started playing with a Wilson set. Then I got an AMP cell irons and I saw the difference in distance and ball height right away. Played a TM Burner Superfast driver and it seems that I get the same distance as the Wilson driver, 230-240 on a good day but average of 210 I'd say. Now, I just received an AMP cell driver (it was on sale at RBG and just to keep everything the same) and used it today and distance is the same. Maybe I need more lessons more than a driver. Golf course is pretty much close now and weather forecast is not really that great for the next few days so I am guessing today was IT.