IGNORED

I need some advice!

Note: This thread is 3815 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi guys I'm new to sand trap and looking for some advice :) I'm currently playing nike vr pro combo irons and hit my shorter irons well and love the feel of blades but I'm looking for more forgiveness in the longer irons. I'm a decent ball striker but feel I need abit more help. Any ideas what irons I should be looking at to get this ? Iv looked at the ap2 714 as they are due out soon here in the uk but are they going to be any more forgiving in the longer irons than what I already have? Thanks in advance ⛳

Hi guys I'm new to sand trap and looking for some advice :)

I'm currently playing nike vr pro combo irons and hit my shorter irons well and love the feel of blades but I'm looking for more forgiveness in the longer irons. ...I

For starters, you might read Jamo 's thorough review on these irons from 2011. He covers all the tech ins and outs.

http://thesandtrap.com/b/clubs/nike_victory_red_vr_pro_combo_irons_review

I just looked at the review myself, and Jamo noted that the VRPC long irons have a pocket cavity head. This uses two pieces of metal which - when welded together - allow for a deeper slot than a carve-out head. So, the pocket cavity is designed with a really good amount of forgiveness.

I have hit the Bridgestone J40 pocket cavity irons, and could get the 3i up fairly well - even though I'm not the best ballstriker.

So, before you spend a lot of money on new irons, you might look at:

• Your swing: Do you have a set-up problem which hurts you in long irons? Or do you try to hit the long irons too hard? Everything below 5i is a tempo club, and good form tends to deliver better than pressing for power.