OK, this raises more questions. He talks about a "mix" of medications. So, more than one. As Iacas noted, the last operation was a month ago or a little better. Why would he still be taking multiple pain meds? Is he hooked? Or is his back so totally jacked up that he'll basically be in pain the rest of his life?
@Nutsmacker I would agree this, as far as I understand the rules. You would be the only one who knows whether or not you used the mark, and therefore you would have to call it on yourself, or not.
Since you've been doing the above for a while now, you probably need to consciously train yourself to not pay attention to your practice swing marks while playing a round.
Haha. I guess what I am saying is in various hypothetical situations..when would I be in violation? For example, what if I took a divot with the practice swing, and then as I was walking up to the ball to hit it and noticed from the practice swing divot that I was going to possibly be hitting it to far to the right(as an example.) Even if I had no intention of using the divot as an alignment tool; at that point, would I be in violation even before I struck the ball? If I noticed myself considering the divot in where to have my stance, is that a rule violation? Or if that situation occurs..should I step off, fill the divot with a seed or something and then hit it? I am trying to make sure that I am not breaking the rules that is all...