Jump to content
IGNORED

Ruling Question?


Red4Life
 Share

Note: This thread is 5459 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I played a round today with my brother-in-law. At a long par 3 he teed off, the ball struck the yageage board of the ladies tee (about 15 yards in front of our tee box, to the left), the ball shot back 10 yards past us about a yard into some heavy bushes. Unsure of the ruling and because we were just out for a bit of fun I told him to just rehit, no penalty. But I'm curious, in case this comes up in a competition, was that the right call??? Are the yardage markers counted as 'part of the course'???

Thanks in advance for the help...
In The Bag:
Cobra F-Speed Driver 10.5°
Cobra F-Speed 3W LD
Cobra Baffler 2 19°
Cobra Baffler 4 23°PING G5 5-WPING Tour 52°PING Tour 58°PING i5 PutterBushnell V2 Rangefinder
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I played a round today with my brother-in-law. At a long par 3 he teed off, the ball struck the yageage board of the ladies tee (about 15 yards in front of our tee box, to the left), the ball shot back 10 yards past us about a yard into some heavy bushes. Unsure of the ruling and because we were just out for a bit of fun I told him to just rehit, no penalty. But I'm curious, in case this comes up in a competition, was that the right call??? Are the yardage markers counted as 'part of the course'???

I think it's just a rub of the green. He'd have to play the ball as it lies.

"Shouldn't you be going faster? I mean, you're doing 40 in a 65..."

Driver: Burner TP 9.5*
3 Wood: 906F2 15*
2I: Eye 23I-PW: 3100 I/HWedges: Vokey Spin-Milled 56*06, MP-R 52*07/60*05Putter: Victoria IIBall: Pro V1xCheck out my new blog: Thousand Yard DriveHome Course: Kenton County...
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Not the right ruling, no. Play the ball as it lies. You can bounce it off a trash can or a water cooler or a car parked on the course and you'd still have to play it where it ended up. Pros bounce balls off spectators and play it as it lies - they're not "part of the course" either.

It's almost always irrelevant if something is part of the course or not when a ball simply hits it and deflects away (exceptions include you, your equipment, your opponent, etc.) - whether something is "part of the course" only comes into play if your ball is resting on it, in it, or your stance or swing are affected (like the earlier example of a garbage can).

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Or if he lost the ball in the bush it would be called a Lost ball and he would have to hit again from the tee box, not sure on which stroke he'd be on though.
In My Bag

Driver: Sasquatch 460 9.5°
3 Wood: Laser 3 Wood 15°
5 Wood: r7 19° (Stiff)Irons: S58 Irons 4-PW Orange DotWedge: Harmonized 60°Wedge: Z TP 54°Putter: Tiffany 34"Balls: Pro V1 Shoes: Adidas Tour 360 IIThe Meadows Golf Coursewww.themeadowsgc.comAge: 16
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Or if he lost the ball in the bush it would be called a Lost ball and he would have to hit again from the tee box, not sure on which stroke he'd be on though.

1 for the shot, 1 for the lost ball, hitting three from the tee again. He could also declare it unplayable and hit again from the tee - same deal.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I may be way off base here, but I believe if the ball is declared unplayable, you'd have to take relief from the bush and play it from there with a penalty, hitting three. Re-teeing would only be an option if the ball was declared lost.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I may be way off base here, but I believe if the ball is declared unplayable, you'd have to take relief from the bush and play it from there with a penalty, hitting three. Re-teeing would only be an option if the ball was declared lost.

Yes, you ARE way off base.

Rule 28- Ball Unplayable - (a) allows the player to "Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played".
Link to comment
Share on other sites


the only thing that a few course around here have is if you strike the power lines which cross the fairways you can play the shot again with no penalty.... and its marked on there scorecard... unless otherwise stated on the card its unplayable and tee it up agin hitting 3...
Team Santa Cruz, CA......

SPONSORS......
PING
FOOTJOYPAY-PAL VISABLUE CRUSH SPORTFISHING
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Thanks to everybody for the replies, I'm going to text my brother-in-law and tell him he signed an incorrect scorecard and is disqualified from our two man tournament - I win, YES

Serves him right for listening to somebody that doesn't know the rules (me ha ha ha)...

In The Bag:
Cobra F-Speed Driver 10.5°
Cobra F-Speed 3W LD
Cobra Baffler 2 19°
Cobra Baffler 4 23°PING G5 5-WPING Tour 52°PING Tour 58°PING i5 PutterBushnell V2 Rangefinder
Link to comment
Share on other sites


we have power lines on one of our holes and it is declared a re-tee no penalty if the wire is hit. and you can see plenty of marks from being hit! haha.

I would agree that if the ball hits something it would be played as is, where is, as lies.

oh yeah I got DQ in a tourney for moving a 150 marker out of my way. come to find out since it affected my swing, I would have been able to take a free drop. Oh well live and learn...
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 5459 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • Played again this morning to try and get out before a lot of people came (no tee times required at the Methodist course). And honestly, not much to say about the round. I can pretty much summarize today’s round by saying this: I had a rough start and couldn’t get anything going. Parred 10 and 11 to start the back nine, but a three-putt for bogey on 12 ruined my momentum. The final numbers were 47-44 for a 91. Not great. I also have a required PAT in two weeks at that course (more about that in my blog post today), so I’ve gotta get working.
    • Day 28: 8/13/2022 Worked on my priority pieces today with a 7 iron. It was all block practice. However, I only focused on one thing at a time. Working hard to try to get a movement engrained into my swing. No random practice today. 
    • Just curious, why did you bring this thread back to life? 
    • I have a golfing friend whose entire body is pretty beat up from multiple injuries.  Hits down on the ball a lot.  He's close to a scratch player.  A true range rat.  He finds 4 pine cones to put in a rectangle under the mat aligning with his hitting area.
    • Thanks for all the good ideas. I’m current practicing on a new Top Tracer range at our course. The mat does seem softer than many I have used at regular driving ranges. But still you can tell if you hit it really fat. It hurts. The data it gives for each shot isn’t very informative. It shows carry, total distance, height and how much it curves. I think we can tell most of that without the feedback. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. cipher
      cipher
      (42 years old)
    2. JoshStefanyszyn
      JoshStefanyszyn
      (27 years old)
    3. MexicanStallion
      MexicanStallion
      (35 years old)
    4. RaginCajun814
      RaginCajun814
      (45 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...