Probable score is okay to put down, and I agree that 8 makes sense but only if you'd realistically shoot that from wherever you started breaking the rules. If you randomly start putting down 8s and 9s on par 4s as a 22HC, I'm sure someone from your HC committee will be knocking on your door.
I agree. It doesn't come close to reflecting a probable score. I posted that score because I thought once a rule was broken, you disregard all the strokes. I'm glad to see that's incorrect. The round for HC purposes will be modified and changed to ESC (8).
I think I understand. It's at the point in the scoring when a rule was broken. At THAT point, I put the probable score in. Correct?
I'm embarrassed that I can't easily grasp this and hate to keep asking about it. I understand the general concept of eliminating sandbagging, but posting an unrealistically low score just seemed crazy.
It's just easier to go back to the original spot or continue to hit provisionals until there's virtual certainty the ball is in play (this was an unfamiliar course however).
This post is from the other thread and I think it applies: