What annoys me is the Cincinnati issue. I agree that if OSU played Oregon now, OSU would win. But I also feel OSU, Alabama, Georgia and maybe OU would all humiliate Cincinnati. I wish Cincinnati would have to do more to get into a top four slot. Alabama Georgia OSU and OU makes for a better top to me than having Cincinnati lurking around waiting to get routed.
It looks like we came to more or less the same conclusion, then. Curious if others have thoughts.
I also wonder if moving back on par 3s might make some sense. Just thinking about a hole from 75 or 150 yards. A par from 150 is the same as a birdie from 75. If the hole has little chance of a double bogey (no water, easily avoidable sand, etc.), it might make sense to move back there. Let's try some math. I looked at my GameGolf stats to come up with something approaching what's accurate for me:
From fairway from 50-75 yards, I'm within 15 yards of the hole 81% of the time; from 75-100, I'm within 15 yards 73% of the time. So, just a rough estimate of what I think would happen:
15% chance at bogey, 77% chance at par, 8% chance at birdie
Average score = (0.15*4) + (0.77*3) + (0.08*2) = 0.6+2.31+0.16 = 3.07
Points for the game is (0.15*0) + (0.77*75) + (0.08*150) = 0+57.75+12 = 69.75
From tee box from 125-150, I'm within 15 yards of the hole 79% of the time; from 150-175, I'm within 15 yards of the hole 58% of the time. Another rough estimate (probably a little optimistic, to be honest, but I'm not sure it changes all that much):
25% chance at bogey, 70% chance at par, 5% chance at birdie
Average score = (0.25*4) + (0.7*3) + (0.05*2) = 1+2.1+0.1=3.2
Points for the game is (0.25*0) + (0.7*150) + (0.05*300) = 0+105+15 = 120
I'm assuming that the hole is unlikely to yield a double bogey. I'm not sure I can think of a hole in real life that's not on a par 3 course where that would be the case, but it looks like I might be able to get more points by going a bit further back on par 3s.
That said, I don't see a scenario where moving back on par 4s and par 5s would make sense, barring some weird lay up hole or something like that.
I assume you're in the USGA jurisdiction, so I suggest that you refer him to the USGA Handicap Rules. 1.3(i) discusses player responsibility, including the expectation that the player will enter "acceptable scores" into the system in a timely manner. 2.1 talks about what an Acceptable Score is, and defines what are Acceptable Formats, which specifically include fourball formats. Rule 3 talks about adjusting hole scores, which specifically addresses situations where a hole isn't completed. In sum, the Rules require fourball scores to be posted (within the USGA jurisdictions, not everywhere), and gives the player the mechanisms to do so. It sounds to me as if the pro is using his own personal opinion to override the requirements of the Handicap Rules.