Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3862 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I played a round at a course in which some greens were partially surrounded by 3 foot high wooden posted cemented into the ground around some of the greens. One of my balls was about ten feet behind the post directly in line with the hole. My playing partner said, I do not get relief since the object is not movable. Anywhere in the rule book, I can find this out.


Posted
Welcome to TST! What you're describing sounds like it is classified as an immovable obstruction. It's covered in rule 24-2b: "Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player's ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule." :~( So unless it's interfering with your stance or swing, no relief. Sorry.

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It should also be noted that sometimes, various walls and other construction are deemed to be an "integral part of the course," which would grant no relief even if your lie, stance or area of intended swing are interfered with.

However, there's typically no way to know unless it's listed on the scorecard or you've run into it before and already asked in the pro shop.  So in a situation where you're unsure, it's best to play two balls under rule 3-3 and then ask in the Pro Shop when finished.

But Missouri Swede is correct.  Since you were 10 feet away, your lie, stance or area of intended swing would not have been interfered with and thus, you would not have been eligible for relief regardless of the classification of the posts, unless they were deemed a "Temporary Immovable Obstruction" (again, something you'd have to ask about in the pro shop)


Note: This thread is 3862 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.