IGNORED

My Swing (FundamentallyCommitted)

Note: This thread is 2927 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey everyone on the Forum!

This is my first time posting on any golf forum, and below you will find a couple of videos I've taken over the past week that happen to be my first attempts at filming my swing.  I've spent years developing my swing based on feel and boy was I surprised at how un-fundamentally sound my swing is!  For someone who is big on understanding and respecting the fundamentals of any athletic move (I was a decent pitcher in high school), I was shocked at how awful my swing is.  I've never taken a lesson so it's no surprise I've been in the dark all these years. 

I love to watch videos of professionals swinging the club, and I can honestly say I think a fundamentally sound swing is a thing of beauty.  No joke, I can watch for hours!  You can imagine my horror at watching myself swing.  Hence my desire to reach out to a community of golfers for some tips on how to get started redesigning my swing from the ground up.  I'm tired of playing inconsistent golf and can't wait to start working on learning a few key moves that will help me strike the ball more consistently.

For what it's worth, there are two big things I need to do better in these videos that I noticed right away and have already started to work on.  They are: 1) limit my hip turn in the back swing to allow my upper body to coil correctly, and 2) allow my hips to lead the swing and turn my shoulders all the way through the shot (can you see how bunched up my shoulders are at impact?  So ugly!).