IGNORED

Newbie looking for direction

Note: This thread is 5984 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi everyone. I’m relatively new to golf. I have only been playing for about 4 months. I try to play every weekend or at worst every other weekend. I have a golden bear starter set. With the golden bear wedges to go along with it. I’m would really like to upgrade to a nicer driver but there are so many options out there.

Can someone help me out with, or send me a link to where I can find out information on different degrees, shaft stiffness, and any other important information I should have before making a decision?

Thanks for the help,
Jeff

what are you looking for in a new driver?

don't take this personally
i'm struggling with this, too
if you don't have a decent swing, the best driver in the world will not help you.

however, as you just started playing, you'll benefit more by spending that money on lessons than buying new clubs

distance will come when you have a more efficient swing
this means most of your power can be transfered to the ball

if you insist on buying a new one, get on a launch monitor (most golf stores have it) and try all the drivers you like and see which one you get the best result.

Launcher 460 10.5° <BB Solution 130 R>
Wishon 949MC 16.5° <SK Fiber Tour Trac 80 R>
3DX DC Ironwood 20°, 23° <UST SR2 R>
MX-23 5-PW <KBS Tour R>
Vokey 250.08, SM54.10, SM58.08 <DG Wedge> Callie 33.75"TLT Series 4MOI matched

I would say I have a decent swing.... not great but good. I would say I have a consistent 225-250 middle of the fairway about 14-15 holes out of 18. but my buddy consistently out drives me with his Nike SQ by 15-20 yards.

I agree about the lessons... and that is in the works as well... Im just looking to slowly start building my bag.