Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×

Rulesman

Established Member
  • Posts

    2,428
  • Joined

  • Days Won

    7

Everything posted by Rulesman

  1. It's as much about identifying it in isolation rather than distinguishing between two balls.
  2. I can't remember ever having seen this LR in force.
  3. Of course the +2 and +10 (sic) are actually playing as scratch players in the gross competition. In fact everyone who contends a gross competition is playing a scratch competitor.
  4. "The new opportunities provided by lifting sponsorship restrictions and the ability to accept prize money up to the increased limit of £700 or $1000 in scratch-only competitions will be of significant benefit to elite amateur golfers looking for ways to fund golf-related expenses."
  5. We agree on this one 😀
  6. You may be right but the patch towards the top and the one bottom right look to be bigger than a normal divot hole. Also the divots are a) behind the holes and b) look to be much smaller that the holes. I would like to see some sort of scale, the grass seems to be very long for a fairway cut.
  7. If that is fairway and not light rough the damaged areas should be marked and deemed GUR. But not otherwise.
  8. This rule (6.2) changed in 2019.
  9. See the Definition of Known or Virtually Certain https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=definitions
  10. Is the direction of play to the left or right. Not that it makes any difference to my suggestion.
  11. If that is fairway I would mark it as GUR.
  12. Some years ago I was in correspondence with both the USGA and the R&A about French Drains. The USGA were telling clubs that they should be defined as Ground Under Repair in Local Rules. The R&A were saying they were Immovable Obstructions by the then definition. After some toing and froing the USGA agreed. But I still suspect they are advising clubs to label them as GUR. Both bodies agreed that if they were grass covered they must be identified in the LR.
  13. Not really. The LR is available to all. As are the OB/Lost Ball and One Ball Type and all other LRs..
  14. The Committee decided he did everything correctly.
  15. I would radio the TD
  16. You only asked for a comment. But I would ask the players 'Why?'
  17. Thanks. I hadn't looked there.
  18. It seems my USGA version of the Rules is out of date. PS Just gone to the USGA site and D7 doesn't seem to be there https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=cp&section=rule&rulenum=8&subrulenum=4
  19. Rule 11.1b Exception 2If your ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence, your ball must be played as it lies, except in two situations:Exception 2 – When Your Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal ...AnimalAny living member of the animal kingdom (other than humans), including ... insects,). Where is that ?
  20. I would rather wait for one of the RBs to comment.
  21. Which version is that? USGA, GB, Australia?
  22. No breach unless player 3 'intended to influence' player 3 or 4
  23. Oops. I should have said 'discarded cigarette lighter' rather than a walnut.
  24. Previously the LR caused a stone to be treated like a MO in all respects. Now the rule doesn't. Why not? Why shouldn't the Rule simply deem a stone in a bunker as either a LI or treat it by Rule as one? A safety conscious player could incur a penalty for being safe about a stone but not a walnut.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...