IGNORED

Scotty Cameron For a Beginner Golfer

Note: This thread is 6116 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm new to the game but I'm improving every day. My current putter is a piece of garbage, and I can get a Cameron Studio Design 1 for around 200.00.

I was wondering what everybody thinks about being a pretty awful player at the moment getting such a nice putter. will it work for me, and I'll be able to grow into it and have it for a long time, or would it be wizer (is that a word haha) to get a cheaper putter that will help me lower my handicap.
in the bag:
R580XD 10.5°
Rescue Dual 19°
Titleist 755 4-PW
Vokey Black Nickel 54.10° Vokey Oil Can 60.08° Circa 62 No. 2 Charcoal Mist

I think you should putt with one before you buy it. For that matter, putt with as many styles as you can to see which one feels right to you. I went through a few putters before I settled in on the one in my bag. You should also look at a good face balanced putter like an Odyssey 2 ball or Marksman or other brand. Then again the Scotty may be the putter you were made for. I just think you should spend some time on the practice green with some before you jump into any putter. On the other hand, as long as it's in very good condition and you keep a headcover on it the Scotty should always be worth close to what you would have in it.

So did I answer anything you asked?

Cheers!

To be honest, I really don't feel right standing over a putter that doesn't have a classic look. The 2 ball, 3 ball putters, as well as the Scotty Cameron Futura, Detour, and any other big, funny looking putter for that matter really just distracts me.

I have actually tried this putter out, and not only does the look give me some comfort, but I really felt a difference in the ease of holing putts.
in the bag:
R580XD 10.5°
Rescue Dual 19°