• Announcements

• iacas

Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rckymountaintgr

hand me down clubs

5 posts in this topic

I just started playing golf last month. It has been a little rough to say the least. My father used to play a lot( he almost made it to the pga tour but didn't get out of q-school). I have seen what a golf shot should look like. The ball launches off the club face like it was shot out of a cannon, but with an effortless looking swing. He bought a set of taylormade tour burner irons in 1995 or 1996 and he has a set of powerbilt tps irons from 1991 or 1992. I am not sure how much forgiveness these irons have. It sure doesn't seem like they have a lot, but that probably has a lot more to do with my swing than the irons. I don't want to spend 700 or more for a new set. Has technology changed so much that I should go out and get a more up to date set? Would learning to play the game with these older irons hurt my development in any way? Thanks.

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

My brother has the tps 6.0 and I have tried the 7.0. Both would be still on par with current irons for forgiveness. Would use either club without a second tought. The older TPS are a bit of an Ping Eye 2 copy. Not a bad thing as they are a reliable design that people still play today. You would likely want to upgrade in the future though.

I started golfing a couple of months ago too and I would advice to get some lessons from a pro.

while you're father probably can teach you a lot of things he might not be the best person to learn you the basics.

My instructor started it part by part so not directly trying to hit a full swing where the club goes behind your back and your left shoulder comes all the way to the right.