IGNORED

Newbie Question About Backswing

Cuz
Note: This thread is 6090 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Sorry, newbie here so forgive me if this sounds ignorant.

I am 41 and just started golfing this year and so has my 11 year old son (by the way I just ordered him a custom set of sized clubs)..
As a beginner the one thing I have noticed more than anything is how experienced golfers lock they're left elbow on the back swing (right handed)but I have yet to read, hear or watch anything that mentions this. Can someone shed some light on this? Is it best, as a beginner, to keep the elbow locked and only swing as far back as possible until I become more flexible?

My biggest problem is currently being able to get a consistant swing, especially with my driver, hence the reason I have been researching the backswing.

Thanks
Cuz

I had a lot of trouble keeping my left arm straight. In fact it took my first two lessons for my instructor to get it into my thick skull. But what really did it was learning how to make a proper turn. Once I did that the left arm stayed in position (not locked, just fairly straight) almost without effort.

How he taught me to make a good turn was to take my golf stance and pretend I had a 12lb medicine ball in my hands. Then he stood to my right and told me to hand him the ball without moving my feet. That movement got me turning properly and I haven't looked back. Couple that move with a straight-ish left arm and you're well on your way to a more consistent swing.

Good luck.

After many years of bad habits and bad golf I settled on smaller compact half swing. Less chance of errors creeping in such as bent elbow.
-Mike

Driver: 450cc, 12 degree
Irons: Rifle steel shafts
Fairway Woods: R7 HybridPutter: Marilyn GPS: Garmin Golflogix GPS-8

Get Harvey Penicks Little Red Book.