Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2185 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Yesterday my group found a putter around the green. We were playing a game (14 people in 4 groups) where only bogeys or better count for points, so it might be understandable that a player would bring a chipping club and a putter to something near the green for their bogey attempt. I was not going to leave the club behind, as I was sure that someone would be missing it and we would be passing the group ahead as the next two holes were up and back. Sure enough, they drove their cart towards us right as we were about to hit our approaches.

My question is, did I break a rule by having a 15th club in my bag? I'm not particularly worried about it for my daily play, as I would always pick up the club. This more pertains to if I ever decide to play a tournament. I could not find anything about this situation in the equipment rules and would like some input/the answer if possible. Has anyone else done this, or does anyone have another solution to this?

Thanks in advance.

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

 

My question is, did I break a rule by having a 15th club in my bag?

NO. You did the right thing. It happens all the time. 

Edited by leftybutnotPM
  • Like 2
  • Thumbs Up 1

Posted

From Rule 4.1:

After a player’s round has started, if the player picks up another player’s club that was left behind, or a club is mistakenly put in the player’s bag without his or her knowledge, the club is not treated as one of the player’s clubs for purposes of the 14-club limit (but it must not be used).

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=4&subrulenum=1

  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

I don't think the OP did anything wrong. @Ashville showed the rule. 

I have picked up lost clubs before. I didn't put them in my bag though, unless I was walking. 

If no one claimed the club on the course, I turned them in at the 19th hole. 

I have left, and lost a couple of wedges over the past decades of my golf journey. My hope is the golfer who found, and kept got some good use out of them. 

  • Upvote 1

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
5 hours ago, Asheville said:

From Rule 4.1:

After a player’s round has started, if the player picks up another player’s club that was left behind, or a club is mistakenly put in the player’s bag without his or her knowledge, the club is not treated as one of the player’s clubs for purposes of the 14-club limit (but it must not be used).

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=4&subrulenum=1

Thanks. I did a overview of the equipment section but I must have missed it. Even though I knew I was doing the right thing, I feel even better about it now.

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2185 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.