Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Changing Play After Taking Free Relief From Immovable Obstruction


Note: This thread is 2080 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

With the ball on the cart path, the player wants relief. Ideally, he would like to hit his 3 wood onto the green, but his point of nearest relief would be in some deep rough. However, nearest point of relief playing a wedge to the fairway would be in a much better spot. If the player drops, intending to hit the wedge, but then changes his mind, can he play the ball using his 3 wood while standing on the path? That is, is the requirement of complete relief fulfilled?

If not, what are his options if he doesn't want to play his wedge?

  • Like 1

  • Moderator
Posted

Always look at definitions first.  The definition of "nearest point of complete relief" says that this is the nearest point for the shot the player would have played from the original location if the cart path wasn't present.  In your hypothetical, that means the 3-wood to the green. And that means that his reference point is in that deep rough.  His options, once he takes relief in the appropriate relief area, include playing any kind of shot he'd like to play.  If the lie precludes him from attempting the 3-wood towards the green, he can evaluate playing in a different direction, using a different club.  Its possible that a logical choice (say a sideways wedge) might require a stance on the cart path, in which case he might be allowed to take relief once again.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

What Dave hinted at but didn't say is that it's got to require something else, like interference from something, to change your mind.

You can't just have an open shot to the green with some of the lie in thicker bad rough, drop while claiming you're going to wedge out, and then hit 3W. I don't know of many rules officials or smart players who would let that fly.

I'd love to see you try to concoct a scenario where you think you could pull this off. The only ones I can imagine where you might involve an object or obstruction or something that really changes the type of shot you could reasonably play.

Basically, you can't just drop close to the path and in the better lie while saying "I'm just going to wedge out" and then "change your mind" and hit a 3W without some pretty extreme circumstances. Something has to have occurred to make it reasonable why you'd change your mind.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
22 hours ago, Andymanvif said:

With the ball on the cart path, the player wants relief. Ideally, he would like to hit his 3 wood onto the green, but his point of nearest relief would be in some deep rough. However, nearest point of relief playing a wedge to the fairway would be in a much better spot. If the player drops, intending to hit the wedge, but then changes his mind, can he play the ball using his 3 wood while standing on the path? That is, is the requirement of complete relief fulfilled?

If not, what are his options if he doesn't want to play his wedge?

can he play the ball using his 3 wood while standing on the path? That is, is the requirement of complete relief fulfilled?

No, complete relief means precisely that.  After defining NPCR for an intended stroke with the wedge and then correctly putting the ball in play, the player MUST play the ball from where it lies using any club but if there is any contact with the path during the stroke with stance or swing the player gets the general penalty under R14.7a for playing a ball from the wrong  place in breach of R16.1.

 


Note: This thread is 2080 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.