IGNORED

Please suggest - Ping G10,Callaway BB/X18/X20,TaylorMade R7

Note: This thread is 5882 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, I started playing golf last season and got addicted to it. My swing has got pretty consistent over last year and I am looking to buy a good golf set now. I usually hit 30-37 over which I am really looking to improve on this season.

I have tried a few clubs at a golf store near me and I feel very comfortable with Ping G10, Callaway BB, TaylorMade R7 and Callaway X 20 . One club that I didnt like the feel of was Nike Slingshot. At this stage I am a little confused about which ones to go for. I could not differentiate much between the above 4. Any suggestions??

I know a lot of people will suggest going for something cheaper at this stage, but I would like to get a good set which I can use for next 5 year atleast.

Thanks for your replies.

At your skill level it's going to be very difficult to tell the subtle differences between the various game improvement irons available on the market. Callaway, Ping and Taylor Made are all well thought of in this market. I'd suggest you get professionally fitted with the least expensive game improvement iron that you feel comfortable hitting and use the money you save on lessons and range balls.

Good luck. In 3-5 years perhaps you'll be on here asking the same questions about "players irons".

In the bag

909D3 8.5 Matrix Ozik XCon 7 X
Burner TP 14.5 Fujikura RE*AX SF TP 75 X
Idea Pro 20 RP Project X 6.0 X-Tour (2005) 4-PW RP Project X 6.0 X-Tour Chrome Wedges 50 and 54 RP Project X 5.5 X-Tour Vintage 60 w/ PM grind Teryllium Ten Newport 2 34" ProV1X